Sort:  

Ah cool, I live in the north currently. Also spend a couple year is the far east, IJburg :P What has taken you to Berlin on your life's journey?

Ah! My dad used to live there but now moved up to Purmerend.

I've always lived in Amsterdam and thought doing an internship abroad would be a nice break - I also wanted to travel always. I did a 6 month internship there and came back this year to Berlin to live with @things :)

Cool! I believe living abroad and travelling really puts things in perspective. How has Berlin been treating you and @things ?

It's great. You really find the pros and cons about your own hometown too, haha.

Berlin has been great so far. I love it!

Yeah it does, what has Berlin made you love and hate about Amsterdam so far?

I love the public transport in Berlin. His city is so much bigger, but the travel times are great. On average, a new metro comes between every 3 to 7, if you're unlucky 10 minutes. Besides that, there are usually more trains or ways that go in the direction of where you need to go, so these waiting times are reduced even more. Also, Berlin is super cheap compared to Amsterdam. I can work three days a week and live perfectly fine from my salary.

These are two things which are complete opposite in Amsterdam. And it gets worse when you go out at night. You have to catch the last train at 00:30 towards home otherwise you're fucked with nightbuses which take hours to get you home. Also, if you miss them, you'll have to wait an hour to get the next one.

In Berlin in weekends, most public transport (metro) runs the whole night with Max waiting times of 20 to 30 minutes and they will take you home in the same timeframe as during the day. I haven't tried

Aha that is interesting, it does makes sense. Since it is a bigger city, more people, allows support for better services. Since a lot of busses,trams etc would be (nearly)empty in Amsterdam a lot of the time. Combined with a first world country and german engineering I am not surprised.

The fact Berlin is super cheap does come as a surprise. I love the fact that you only have to work for three days to support your lifestyle. This opens up room for creativity, sports, self reflection, rest etc. How do you invest your free time?

And what about something that you love more about Amsterdam since your stay in Berlin? I stayed in Beijing for 2.5 weeks and really got to appreciate how not busy Amsterdam is, also the skies are so beautiful in the Netherlands. Never appreciated it like that before.