Ghost Clouds In Glacier National Park Montana

in #photography6 years ago

These are the mountains the First Nations Blackfoot Tribe called "Backbone of the World"  and the "Shinning Mountains". This was a sacred place to the ancient  peoples who lived in these lands so long ago, this was a place for  vision quests.   

After a strong autumn rainstorm Lake McDonald glows with mist  which rises and lays on the hills above the lake, creating what is  locally called "Ghost Clouds".  

In the immediate foreground are the remains of a forest fire which ravaged this hill and in the distance are the mountains of Glacier National Park including Gunsight Mountain, Little Matterhorn, Glacier Basin and Lincoln Peak.  

This is an unusual image for me because I usually only shoot from the air but I was so taken by this place I had to explore it on the  ground as well, so I will be sharing a number of images I lensed from my terrestrial explorations here. 

This image is from my ongoing project in which I am trying to raise  awareness of the 47% of the USA and 90% of Canada that remain  unpopulated wilderness.   

Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition is my personal  mission to introduce people to these amazing locations that surround us.    

If you like what you see here upvote then resteemit so that others  may experience these wondrous places as well. And if you'd like these  images to be part of your feed then follow me. Yehaw!!    

Sort:  

What a very interesting photograph with the clouds above the mountains and in the center the mountains are full of snow. What's the name of that river? This is an amazing photograph you can tell it very cold.

Thanks Manny, that is Lake MacDonald in the bottom western corner of Glacier National Park.

cool keep it up

Truly a beautiful photograph! It speaks to me on a deep level.
I love that you are raising awareness of North America's wilderness! I myself, am a forest dweller in Canada, so the vast wilderness and wildlife of North America are dear to my heart.
Please continue on your journey of photographing these wonderfu​lly natural places!

Thank you Cheyenne! I am glad you enjoy these. I can see by your beautiful paintings and drawings that you are inspired by nature. Your work is stunning! I am honored you like my work!!! I appreciate the support.

I just love this photo graph. The trees in the foreground just add a new dimension to the photo. I could see this one on someone's wall!

Thanks so much... I too like those trees in the foreground, it gives an interesting perspective to the image. And yes I agree, this would look awesome on someones wall!