FIFA Cracks Down on ‘Hot Female Fan’ Shots During World Cup

in #photography6 years ago

A Russia fan enjoys the pre-match atmosphere prior to the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia group A match between Russia and Egypt on June 19

gettyimages-978741268.jpg

According to The Irish Examiner, the anti-discrimination group Fare Network has been working with FIFA to reduce the amount of televised shots of young females at the World Cup games. FIFA’s diversity boss, Federico Addiechi, stated that FIFA has told its broadcast service to end such practices. Though the termination has not yet been part of a proactive campaign, Addiechi stated: “This is one of the activities that we definitely will have in the future—it’s a normal evolution.”

The practice of showcasing attractive women at sporting events has perpetuated the stereotype of the “hot female fan,” who is scantily clad, model-esque and simply there to exist as eye candy. The technique, which is meant to spike viewership whenever there is a lull in a sports game, was pioneered in the ‘70s by American television director, Andy Sidaris, who referred to his invention as the “honey shot.”

In his 1976 documentary, Seconds to Play, Sidaris explained, “I got the idea for honey shots because I am a dirty old man. When I turned 17, I remember it was terrifying, every time I looked at a girl I would just tremble. And I thought if I’m like that maybe other people are like that. And you know what, they are.”

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
http://observer.com/2018/07/fifa-world-cup-hot-female-fan-shots/

Your mistake was in not giving a source link - it makes it look as if you are steling the article from someone else, whicch is what you do when there is no source link. If you carry on doing it, instead of growing, you will end up with 0 in Rep and money.

We want to read what you have to say, but if you quote someone else, then say so.