Finding a Flower in the Forest

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

flower in a rainy forest original photography by fraenk

 

Last tuesday was a rainy day!

The @googlyprize was due and I didn't have a title image yet.

I made a pledge to myself, really just to myself, but it's still a binding agreement, that the #googlyeyes contest would be showing a fresh, unique and original picture for every run of the show.

Despite the rain, I really didn't have any excuses to not go out and find a somewhat aesthetically pleasing spot as a stage for the @googlyprize trophy. I had to make a run out of town and the road took me through a nice stretch of forest, so I decided to simply pull over, get the wellies out of the trunk, zip up my raincoat and start a hike through the rain.

It wasn't long before I found a beautiful spot, a small clearing, way off the beaten path, overgrown with grasses and leafy little plants.

clearing in a rainy forest original photography by fraenk

I knew right away, this was the spot. I walked around for a minute to find a nice angle and one of those fallen trees, fully covered in soft and fluffy green moss was the obvious choice as a stage for the little golden googly trophy.

clearing in a rainy forest original photography by fraenk

If you're a follower of the @googlyeyes, you might already recognize the spot from the latest announcement's bonus picture, if not... well, what are you waiting for, go check it out!

But that's not actually what I wanted to talk about here. What I wanted to share was the precious moment that came next.

The mission was accomplished, the shot was on the chip and I was pretty much ready to head back, but you know how it goes, once you stop searching, you'll start discovering.

leafy clearing in a rainy forest original photography by fraenk

Taking in the scene, feeling the place, cannot be described in words, nor in pictures, but this pretty little flower, maybe it can stand as a symbol for the precious moment of serenity that comes when the mind is in the moment and not on a mission:

flower on aclearing in a rainy forest original photography by fraenk

 

flower on aclearing in a rainy forest original photography by fraenk

 

I always enjoy the little detours my personal googly pledge brings me on, and this was a particularly enjoyable one in the past week, despite the rain, or maybe even because of it.

I want to thank @nmcdougal94 for promting me to write a post for his awesome new contest. I'm not exactly sure if this qualifies or if it's still in time it wasn't in time, but lucky me round two already started :D... either way, I enjoyed giving you a glimpse into my last googly location scouting adventure.

... oh and, here's that boilerplate:


This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)
AND
the latest update <<< please click to read.



Thank you for viewing my @snaepshots!

 

fraenk avatar
@fraenk loves you!

Sort:  

Wow :) these were some awesome pictures. Thank you for sharing them. That looks like it was a beautiful space :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for giving me the opportunity and reason to share those.

The most beautiful part was probably breathing the scent of the forest after the fresh rain. I'd like to say it was breathtaking, but actually it was quite the opposite :P

:) happy to be your catalyst.

Oh yeah, I bet that was nice. I definitely miss that smell. The earthy, clean air. I should see about going on a hike sometime.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the little flower @snaepshots! I like the zen and stillness of the backdrop and yes! I spot the spot! :D
Aaaah.. I can just breathe in the freshness of the jungle. After rain is always my favourite :)

aww... thanks @marblely! I'm glad you liked it :D

cuddle_hug1.png

you lovely legless kitten :D

I wonder what @zeppelin is up to these days... wouldn't it be great if you had more expressions?!

Welcome to #ccc! Please check out all #ccc contests and rewards!

ad5dc058 freedomshift transfer 2 STEEM to snaepshots Welcome to #ccc! Please check out all #ccc contests and rewards.

Thanks @freedomshift, I really only joined because I wanted to enter @nmcdougal94's prompt but I'll make sure to check out what the deal with #ccc actually is.

I didn't know there would be a welcome present... that's awesome :D Thanks again.

You have been upvoted by all four members of the @steemexplorers team. Steemexplorers is an initiative to help bring all Steemians information on various services and communities operating all on the STEEM blockchain in a centralized location to save you time and help you grow here on Steemit. It's free, it's easy, and there's a whole lot of information here that you can put to good use. Please come by our discord channel to learn more and feel free to ask as many questions as you'd like. We're here to help! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq

meh... would I have known you'd trail-vote your notification to the top of my comment section, I would have actually preferred to not get those votes :/

I'm sorry, but I'll have to flag this comment down because I really really want my organic engagement to be on top of the comment section here!


P.S.: I flagged from my main account in exactly the right weight to make sure your payout stays above the dust limit but the comment stays below the real engagement.

I also looked at steemd to find that your initial votes which warranted the notification are actually so tiny that they do not even contribute a single rshare to this post's reward balance... zero!

We're not able to please everyone, sorry you're upset.

Congratulations @snaepshots! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to fraenk! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

Hi @curationkiwi! Special squad of highly trained hamsters prepared this delegation link for you:
steemconnect 50.0 SP delegation to @curationkiwi.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fraenk from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Congratulations @snaepshots!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 8 with 13 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on the Steem blockchain, consider to vote for my witness!

Beautiful fotos, snaepshots.
Kind regards
Iris

These are some amazing photographs, @snaepshots.

thanks, but flagged for vote farming @steemflagrewards

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reporting this abuse, @fraenk.

  • vote farming
    You're churning out content (often low quality), in quick successions with abnormal number and/or upvote size.

This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord