Instagram 2k Followers: Style Change = Engagement Drop ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

in #photography โ€ข 4 years ago

steemit cover best of 2019.png

Check out my Instagram feed for my nature pictures, wisdom, and fun.

Previous posts of this series:

Instagram 2k Followers: Style Change = Engagement Drop ๐Ÿ˜ฑ

๐Ÿ“ˆ Almost 2000 followers HYPE!!! ๐ŸŽ‰
๐Ÿค” Over the course of roughly one week and six successive posts on Instagram, my engagement rate dropped down from up to 50% to as low as 20%. ๐Ÿ“‰
There might be other factors playing a role too, but the most apparent is the change of style in six of my recent posts. I decided to post some picture collages to thank my most active and loyal followers and commenters as well as my own top nine most liked and my favorite pictures. Quite different from my usual nature photography posts. As there were nine individual pictures in each post, the hashtags I used were all over the place. On top of the top nine grid-style, I created a special cover page for each post. My thought behind that was to give the viewer a sense of discovery, raising interest to make them wanna swipe to the actual picture. It was a white, semi-transparent overlay with description text where the underlying picture would shine through. I even put in some effort and created videos for my Instagram Story that I published each day alongside the respective picture post (View the highlights here).
Not too shabby and cool to look at, in my opinion.
Not according to the majority of my followers and the Instagram algorithm, though. The reach per post also dropped from between 1.8k and 3.9k to between 1.3k and 1.7k. These six posts seem to have messed up my account and it is yet to recover from the drop in reach and engagement.

Stay tuned to find out how this plays out. I'll keep posting updates on my Instagram progression here on Steemit.
If you're interested and you like my stuff, please consider following me on Steemit and Instagram ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ––.


Now here are the actual pictures I'm talking about. Please let me know what you think about the content and my theories regarding the engagement drop.

Top 9 Followers 2019

Instagram pictures with original text:

top followers likes cover
followers likes collage

๐Ÿ™๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿค— A special THANK YOU to my ๐Ÿ† Top 9 Followers Of 2019. Category: Most likes. ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ––
.
๐Ÿ™ Thank you from the bottom of my heart, my friends! You are my most consistent and loyal followers on Instagram. I started about a year ago and since then you have continually shown tremendous support and engagement. Without you, I wouldn't be where I'm at today. ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿš€ Wherever that may be, I'm not exactly sure...but still! ๐Ÿ˜…
.
๐ŸŽจ As a small gesture of my appreciation, I created a photo collage from your pictures. ๐Ÿ“ท๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ I had a lot of fun browsing through your lovely galleries. Choosing from so many amazing pictures, it was no easy task to pick only one picture per person. I hope you're as happy with my choices and the end result as I am! Also, thank you for granting me your permission to use your beautiful pictures for this collage!
.
๐Ÿค“๐Ÿ˜‡ Before you start praising me for fitting the images together so well, I can't solely take the credit for it. Of course, I arranged the pictures on purpose but I picked my favorites without the "greater picture" in mind. But consider these other factors playing a role:

  1. Some elements, forms or colors are fitting out of pure luck or coincidence ๐ŸŽฒ
  2. Human brains evolved to make us pattern-seekers ๐Ÿค”

Have a great start into the week, everybody! โ˜ฎ๏ธ Peace. โค๏ธ Love. ๐Ÿ–– Live long and prosper.


Top 9 Commenters 2019

Instagram pictures with original text:

top followers comments cover
followers comments collage

๐Ÿ™๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿค— A special THANK YOU to my ๐Ÿ† Top 9 Commenters Of 2019. ๐Ÿ—ฃ๏ธ๐Ÿ“ข๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š
.
๐Ÿ™ Thank you from the bottom of my heart, my friends! ๐Ÿ’ช๐Ÿฆพ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿค๐Ÿฆธโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿฆธโ€โ™€๏ธ๐Ÿฆนโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿฆนโ€โ™€๏ธ We are like a team of superheroes. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‚ With both your and my writing powers combined, we could do anything. Like for example break the record of the most commented picture in my gallery (which is at 150 comments on the one with a cute baby cat ๐Ÿ˜ป, so it's no easy task). This was just a crazy fantastic idea with no importance to it, but it's still a funny thought of the top commenters' joint forces accomplishing never foreseen greatness. Hahaha ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ––.
.
๐Ÿ˜ I love interacting with you and responding to your thoughtful, witty and kind comments. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ‘
.
๐ŸŽจ As a small gesture of my appreciation, I created a photo collage from your pictures. ๐Ÿ“ท๐Ÿ–ผ๏ธ I had a lot of fun browsing through your beautiful galleries. Choosing from so many amazing pictures, it was no easy task to pick only one picture per person. I hope you're as happy with my choices and the end result as I am! Also, thank you for granting me your permission to use your beautiful pictures for this collage!
.
Keep on staying true to yourselves! Peace. โค๏ธ Love. ๐Ÿ–– Live long and prosper.


Top 9 Most Liked 2019

Instagram pictures with original text:

top9 2019 most liked cover
top9 2019 most liked

โžก๐Ÿ‘‰ Swipe to see the 2nd ๐Ÿ“ท picture with the actual ๐Ÿ† Top Nine ๐Ÿ˜Š ...obviously! ๐Ÿ˜…
๐Ÿ†๐Ÿ˜‡ After my previous two altruistic posts to thank my followers, I relapse back into my narcissistic self again. It's all about me now. Me me me! ๐Ÿ˜… Here are the nine pictures of mine that received the most likes and comments combined in 2019. ๐Ÿค—๐Ÿ™ A huge thank you to everybody who liked, commented, followed, interacted or engaged in any way, shape or form. ๐Ÿ‘Œ
.
๐Ÿ”ฅ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’– Much love. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ––


My Favorites 2019

Instagram pictures with original text:

top 9 2019 my favorites 1 cover
top 9 2019 my favorites 1

โ“ Which picture is your favorite? โ“
โžก๐Ÿ‘‰ Swipe to the 2nd slide ๐Ÿ“ท for the actual photo grid ...obviously! ๐Ÿ˜…
๐Ÿ“ท๐Ÿฅฐ These are pictures of mine that didn't necessarily get a lot of likes or comments, but that I myself like the most, besides the Top 9 featured yesterday. Beauty is subjective. And on top of that, pictures you take yourself have a sentimental value to them. ๐Ÿ˜Š When you think about the mood you were in taking it or the people you were with. ๐Ÿ’ง๐ŸŒฒ The smell that was in the air ๐Ÿฎ๐ŸŒผ or the full 360 degrees look upon a majestic landscape ๐ŸŒ„. The effort it took to shoot it or the amount of work you put in editing ๐Ÿ’ป (which is little to nothing in most of my pictures, but I can relate to others who heavily edit and improve every image). ๐Ÿ’– All that comes together and creates a strong mixture of feelings. ๐Ÿ˜ That's part of why I love photography. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ––
.
"There are always two people in every picture: the photographer and the viewer." - Ansel Adams
.
Have a great weekend, everybody!
๐Ÿ˜ Love and peace โ˜ฎ๏ธ. Live long and prosper. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ––
.
...to be continued...


top 9 2019 my favorites 2 cover
top 9 2019 my favorites 2

...continuation of yesterday's post, my favorite pictures of 2019 part 2. ๐Ÿ˜โค๏ธ
If you're already sick of all those photo grids and collages - don't worry, this will be my last one for this year...definitely...probably...maybe! ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜‡
.
Again, these photographs didn't receive the most likes so my reasons and methods for choosing them are solely subjective. Many of them are first tries of a technique, lucky shots or I just like them for no particular reason. ๐Ÿ“ท๐Ÿฅฐ
.
I'll say a short sentence about each of the nine:

  1. ๐ŸŒ„ Sunset, crane, street lantern through window screen - long exposure and interesting effects.
  2. ๐Ÿ•ท๏ธ๐Ÿ•ธ๏ธ Cross spider against the light - contre jour, contrast, abstract shapes with minimal detail.
  3. ๐Ÿฆ—๐Ÿ’™ Grasshopper on blue rope - lucky spot and shot in automatic mode with flash.
  4. ๐Ÿ Pear perfectly lit and shaped - low exposure and natural sunlight diffused by an acrylic glass roof.
  5. ๐Ÿ˜œ Funny b&w portrait of myself, using natural light, tripod and cable release.
  6. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿ’ง๐Ÿ’Ž Strong sunlight, reflective surfaces, a water jug and a blue hue.
  7. ๐Ÿ‡๐Ÿ’ง Berries after the rain, desaturated green - one of my first edits to successfully modify the mood.
  8. ๐Ÿงก๐Ÿ–ค Orange daylily - early experiments with indoor shooting, black background and one-directional natural light through a window.
  9. ๐ŸŽ Apple with wormhole on a water glass - all artsy-fartsy looking and stuff.

.
๐Ÿ˜ Love and peace โ˜ฎ๏ธ. Live long and prosper. ๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ––


Any feedback is highly appreciated!
Let me know what you think...general thoughts, tips, tricks, questions, advice, funny comments, disses, bashes, whatever!

Thank you to everybody ๐Ÿ˜˜.

Have fun and stay awesome! โค๏ธ ๐Ÿ––


Follow me:ย 
button-steemitblog.png๐Ÿ”ฅ Taste my wisdom ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ. โœ๏ธ Articles about life, philosophy, travel, tutorials, gaming, videos, live streaming, development, meta-blogging, photography, and more...
button-twitter.png๐Ÿ“ฐ Wanna stay up to date? Twitter is the best place for quick and short announcements.
button-instagram.png๐Ÿ“ท Posting at least one of my own pictures a day. Topics: Everything and nothing, and all the things in between.
button-youtube.png๐ŸŽž๏ธ ๐Ÿฅ‡ Watch my best gaming moments. Highlight clips, videos & live streams.
button-Twitch.png๐ŸŽฎ โœŒ๏ธ Watch me live stream games like Heroes of the Storm, Hearthstone, Minion Masters. Hang out, say hi!
button-reddit.png๐Ÿค โ‰๏ธ Subscribe to my Subreddit. Discuss anything.
button-discord.png๐Ÿ—ฃ๏ธ๐ŸŽ™๏ธ ๐Ÿ”‰๐Ÿ‘‚ Join my Discord server. Come have a chat, let's play some games or talk about anything.
Sort: ย 

How strange! I really wouldn't have expected the activity to drop from these posts! Usually people (myself at least) like these kind of highlights!
Can't wrap my head around why it changed the engagement so drastiacally!

Congratulations @spreadfire1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @spreadfire1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @spreadfire1! You received a personal award!

Thank you for the witness votes you made to support your Steem community and for keeping the Steem blockchain decentralized

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!



The Rosary: An Invention of Fools Fooling Other Fools. Comment what you understand of our Topic Post.
Check our Discord ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿค—โค