Florida Manatee

in #photography6 years ago

Also known as a Sea Cow. They are harmless and love to be scratched. Unfortunately, they are not very bright and get hit by boaters propellors far too often. You will see that this Manatee has propellor cuts too.

IMG_8300.png

We have seen that when they sleep they sink until they need air, then while still asleep, they rise, take a breath of air and sink again.

My husband took this video when out fishing. You can see the Manatee kept coming back to be scratched.

I hope you enjoyed my post because I enjoyed making it.

rsz_all_pics_off_lanas_iphone_1285_2.jpgFollow me...

Sort:  

Are you spending your days in your summer home?

We sold the Florida house, and we are going on a cruise soon. Thanks for asking friend.

hi, really amazing animal..
beautiful photo... :)))

My favorite animal on the planet. So classic. That's a real treat to have them come up to the boat and get scratched. Always wanted to swim with them when down in FLA. Never got the chance. Maybe someday. Though I'd have to disagree in my view, not so much that they're not smart, just doing their manatee thing, floating about and eating and lazing, and the boats run them over. Sad state of life. Thanks for the cool video of one of the truly cool ancient's, still messing about in the water.

You got a good point there. That’s not the first random Manatee that we came across that wanted a good rub. I think they are so sweet! Thanks for looking at my post!

Awwww! Now I want to scratch a manatee! Too bad you couldn't convince him to help you fish a little. I bet he could have chased something your way. Do they like belly rubs, too? lol

Do they make any audible sounds? Please say they moo....

haaa, they do snort when they come up for air, so I guess that sounds like a cow :)
They do love belly rubs too!! That Manatee also rolled over for a belly rub :)

Sea Cow is looks like turtle.

I followed and up votes you. please followback @huanmv

Great photos and video. I follow you. I like sea cow. visit my blog.

Wow photography is very cool
I have never seen a cow before
Really a beautiful creature

NICE PHOTOS @steem-samiam ,good information about sea cow.I didn't hear about this creature before ,but it's good to see.