Exploring Color Key: A Photo Journey Through Ostalb's Mushroom Wonderland

in #photography15 days ago

I edited the photo of the fly agaric mushroom without spots that was taken during a hike in the Ost-Alb district here in Photoshop Elements. Just a quick reminder, this photo was taken during a hike with my dog on her birthday in the Ostalb region. It was October, the time when the forest was filled with many mushrooms.

I used this photo as an experiment to create a color key photo. I did the work using Photoshop Elements, the manual way. I created two layers with the same photo, converted the upper layer to black and white, and then cut out the areas that should remain in color. After that, I exported the photo as a JPG. This was my Color Key exercise with a photo and Elements 2013.

Photo Information

  • Author: Ruben Storm
  • Taken: October 23, 2012
  • Published: December 15, 2014
  • Camera: Nikon D7000
  • Lens: Nikkor 24.0-70.0 mm f/2.8
  • Software: Adobe Photoshop Elements
  • Location: Ostalb district, Germany

Photo@FlickrMy Flickr Profile

Sort:  

The colour version looks to me more convincing. ☘️ Feel free to send your fungi visuals to FL community next time.

Let me check the community. Thank you