Seahorses

in #photography6 years ago

Finding Seahorses was a real treat for me, I never expected to see any of these amazing creatures, but low and behold there it was right below me and it seems like they are male seahorses from the looks of their fat bellies. Looking at these cute animals made me think I was living in a fantasy.
IMG_0147 (3).JPG

IMG_0129 (4).JPG
They look so unreal and hidden so well that if I moved away and came back I always had a hard time finding him again. Since seeing these creatures was a rare sight to anyone I was very careful as to not disclose it's location to those who would try to capture it and keep it in a personal aquarium which has a higher chance of dying and may lead to even more rarity because when they die the aquarium owner may just go out and get another seahorse.
IMG_0173.JPG

IMG_0141 (4).JPG
As for me I prefer to let them be, They live in the ocean and that's where I always want to see them. I've lived in Hawaii for over 30 years and only recently have I ever seen a seahorse in the ocean and when I finally did I was extra careful when scanning the sea floor ever since. So if you see Seahorses, you are blessed, enjoy them by watching and then let them be so others can enjoy this magnificent creature called the Seahorse.
IMG_0192 (3).JPG

fish reeffish (56).JPG
Here is some info on Seahorses
Seahorse "Hippocampus" Ancient Greek meaning of hippos means "horse" and kampos means "sea monster". A Seahorse has a head and neck that looks like a horse, seahorses have tiny bony armor, an upright posture and a curly tail. Seahorses are fish, They breathe using gills and have a swim bladder. Seahorses have interlocking plates on the outside and this covers a boney spine. They don't have tail fins but they do have 4 fins, one at the tail, one under the belly and one behind each cheek.
IMG_0195.JPG

IMG_0009 (3).JPG
Seahorses are not the best swimmers. They prefer to rest in one area, holding on to coral or seaweed for days. They can beat their fins up to 50x a second, but can not move quickly. The places you'll find seahorses using their curly tail to hang on to seaweed and corals are on a coral reefs or in sea grasses.
IMG_0199 (3).JPG

IMG_0118 (6).JPG
Seahorses have been found to live in fairly shallow waters, seahorses are very difficult to see in the wild because the blend in very well with their surroundings.
Because they swim so slowly, eating can be a challenge because a seahorse has no stomach. It needs to eat almost constantly an adult seahorse will eat 30 to 50x a day, while baby seahorses can eat about 3,000 pieces per day. Seahorses do not have teeth, they suck in their food and swallow it whole. Seahorses mostly feed on plankton, small fish and small shrimps. The male seahorse has a pouch on the front side of his tail. When mating, a female seahorse can deposit up to 1,500 eggs into his pouch. The male seahorse will carry the eggs from 9 to 45 days until the fully developed tiny baby seahorses emerge.
IMG_0200.JPG

IMG_0266.JPG

PTDC0008 (4).JPG

PTDC0060 (5).JPG

PTDC0128 (3).JPG

PTDC0256.JPG

Sort:  

I am so jealous. That is yet another creature who is not afraid of you. :-)

The seahorses and sea turtles are my favorite critters. My next planned posting will be of creepy things in the sea you don't really want to see.

Lol, thx for the warning.