Swimming with a Stingray

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


One of the extremely rare sights for me was swimming and seeing a stingray close to shore. This was my first and only time I have ever experienced this beautiful sighting. I was told there had been quite a few sightings early in the mornings close to shore. Yes I was a bit surprised to see it and no I didn't get to close. As you can see it has a very long tail, almost 2x the length of the body. Thank God I have a long camera pole so I didn't have to get to close. I think it was more aware of me swimming by that it headed out to deep water which I won't follow it there. What a treat it was and I will remember it forever.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I've hated Stingray's since they caused the death of the beloved conservationist Steve Irwin. Nature can be cruel sometimes. You be careful okay. These are lovely shots

To be fair, humans are the sole cause of death of millions of living beings and the extinction of several whole species, but instead one angry Stingray gets all the bad rep because it lashed out at a diver.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!