Photography

in #photography2 years ago

Hello everyone. As @kommienezuspadt can verify, one of the most consistent things about me is my seeming inability to adjust to whatever modern expectations come along with being a freelance artist in 2021. Or 2022, being as that is only a month or so away now. Mentally, I'm pretty sure I'm still somewhere near the end of 2019.

01.jpg

For the last few years, since I finally got a smart phone with a camera that is worth the effort, I had been taking photographs whenever I was out and about. Typically, I'd see something that I thought would make a good environment or background reference for an illustration some day.

02.jpg

One day, a few months back, I was clearing out the photos on my phone, and came upon a bunch of these future reference illustrations. When I was looking at them this time around, it hit me that the photos might kinda be okay just on their own. Standing as their own form of artistic expression and documentation, as opposed to just being some sort of backdrop for something I might draw some day.

07.jpg

I've been dealing with a persistent shoulder issue since the early part of 2018, which limits the amount of time I can spend drawing and tattooing in any given week, so finding a creative visual outlet like photography has been huge for me. So, it seemed like something worth sharing. I had a personal goal to try and take 100 photos I was proud of by the end of 2021, and I'm nearly there. Figured it was time to start showing them to world a bit.

08.jpg

My plan is to share four or five each week, along with a weekly art post, to get some more consistent content posted here. Thanks for taking the time to check out the first few.

Sort:  

Those are so me pretty awesome photos. It is amazing what you can get with the smartphone these days. I remember back in the day people used to come to me and say "I can't get my cell phone to take good pictures" and I would always reply "because it's a cell phone". That just isn't the case these days. Nice job on the shots!

Thank you very much! The last time I bought a new phone, I told the salesperson that my only real interest was getting the best possible camera that was available, as I work as a tattoo artist and wanted solid photos of my work. At the time, about two years ago, it was a top of the line camera. Now my wife's iPhone 13 Pro makes my camera look like a polaroid from the 70's.

Haha, I hear you! I went with the pixel when it first came out mainly because of the camera. It is amazing how great they are and the potential they have in the future. That is cool that you are a tattoo artist.