New Tamron 18-400mm F/3.5-5.6 Di II VC HLD (APSC-Lens)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A new interesting lens from Tamron is incoming.

The technical name is 18-400mm F/3.5-5.6 Di II VC HLD all-in-one zoom lens (model B028). It will be available for in Canon and Nikon mounts.

Wide Angle to Long Tele-Range

The zoom-range is incredible, ranging from 18-400mm. The lens is designed for APSC (1.5-crop) cameras. This is a long awaited lens. It has a complete covered zoom-range from about 28-600mm (compared to Fullframe). This lens can be mounted all day long, giving you the maximum flexibility.

Possible Disadvantages

It is clear, that such a lens is an allrounder. I think we cannot expect too much sharpness over the full zoom-range. Most likely, there will be aperture- and focal-length-combinations, where the results may be less than expected like vignette/unsharp edges and so on. However, with such an incredible zoom-range, this can’t be complaint.

Short Conclusion

If I had an APSC-camera, I would have a close look to this lens. It can save you money, weight and keep your body free from dust, because you do not have to change the lens. Some compromises have to be made with such a wide zoom-range, but we have no tests so far. The new design is promising. For now, I love this lens.

Some information and the picture are taken from this page:
TheNewCamera.com/tamron-18-400mm-all-in-one-press-release

(I’m not related to Tamron and I do not get anything from them for this post.)

Update: MTF-Chart (Tamron)


The MTF-Chart looks promising.




I'm continuing posting articles that matter. Thank you for reading and don't forget to Follow me.

Sort:  

good information.thank you!!

I'm happy to have helped.

18-400... that's some range it's going to have. Could be an interesting buy that for a APSC-camera.

correct. I added the MTF-Chart, which looks quite good...