Resistance to main current 8. With documentation (Set "Sabotage")

in #photography4 years ago (edited)



Good morning to all!

"Downtown, we weren’t allowed to enter the records. The new wave punk opened the doors for us to play in those clubs.

People like the Fab 5 Freddy invited us to go and a lot of the punks started following me wherever I played.

A lot of people thought there’d be a riot, but when the music was playing, everybody started dancing.

You could see the punks trying to learn how to Hip Hop.

Everything was starting to change enormously". Afrika Bambaataa

"The punk scene was great because it was crazy. You know?

But hey, hip hop was crazy.

We identified with that movement because it was the alternative to rock and hip hop was an alternative to the disco.

It was like we shared the same difficulty.

So we started acting in those clubs, Roxy, Negril, Peppermint Lounge, and it was the perfect marriage". Grandmaster Caz

"It wasn’t the aristocrats. It wasn’t the audience at Studio 54.

You know, we had Negril, the Mudd Club, that scene, and they were really into it". Grandmixer DXT

"The owners, like Micheal Holman, and an English promoter named Lady Blue hired them. So you didn’t have to go to the Bronx to listen to rap.

You could be a college kid and walk three blocks and there was Afrika Bambaataa touching the trays". Bill Adler

I want to ask you about going downtown for the first time, and connect with that world and what that was like.

"Wow, okay.

I went right to the center, to the clubs where there were a lot of white people and they said, [Do what you always do]. Really?.

Do what you always do. Well, here come the bells. Here comes Apache. High temperatures come.

In a room full of 95% white people.

What are you gonna do when you hear this?

It was a great success.

The place was filling up.

It never reached them. We were always reserved.

All the time, all the time. And it opened a new market for me because now I could play songs that I couldn’t spend in the neighborhood.

I could put it on the air because they understood it, but I played it in a special way.

I played it in my scientific way.

I guess I thought I improved it, but it worked extremely well". Grandmaster Flash

In the next post I will continue with this, thanks for the attention.

Photography: @redrum_shooting (Instagram)

Model: Debi. 

From this moment we thank all those who are going to join us to grow this project in which you will also be part, if you have suggestions, tips or comments to each post we would be very grateful, to grow all at once. All that is collected here will be used to make the best shots for you.

Follow us at instragram for more: @tng.visual 

The best energy for all, see you in the next post



Sort:  

hola bro, si puedes escribeme por instagram para pasarte un dato