Take a match to it

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

This is one of my favourite places in the city to photograph. It is gorgeous. Maybe not classically beautiful but still very attractive.

It is a long abandoned matchstick factory, one of the many abandoned factories that dot Finland. This one is now right in the midst of massive ongoing developments and how long it will be able to withstand the pressure before the bulldozers roll through, who knows. While it is standing though, I will visit it from time to time to photograph and imagine what I would do to the place given unlimited funds.

These are photos I took last year and I thought them lost which can be frustrating as I don't like the way I had processed them. I had over done it a little in ways that I should really know better. These ones are more as shot with a few highlights and minimal recovery done. I have tried to work with the edited versions without much success before and I am glad I found these :) I much prefer them this way.

For those that take amateur photos (pros probably keep everything), if you have photos that you really like, make sure to keep the original unedited as one day, you may want to go back and redo it. Perhaps your styles and preferences change, or the purpose changes, there are many reasons. One thing that is also interesting to look at is how one progresses over time. I am sure that there are some professionals out there that when they look back they think 'no... I didn't do that!'

It is part of the artistic journey I would imagine. They say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Have you ever been surprised by what you have found to be beautiful?

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

Are these car exhausts in the first picture? you could make a small fortune with those!

I think it is just piping but there is a hell of a lot of strange things piled up around the place so it wouldn't surprise me.

This post received a 2.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @moataz! For more information, click here!

Hi bro, exploring those abandoned industrial complexes is always cool, you never know what you will find, from awesome grafitis, to cool spots to do airsoft with the guys!
Peace, have fun ;)

Airsoft would be awesome there though a bit dangerous in places.

A couple times I have been there I have talked with some of the artists. I have some good photos of them too. No faces of course :)

photos are good , but mine's better ;)

Amazing! I love abandoned places and I've done a photo project on the in the past :) I took some new ones here in Copenhagen recently though that look a lot like those of yours!! And yes, you're right about the pros indeed : I never delete anything ever, the originals are always there to review or re-edit ;) Show us more!! Steem on!!

really enjoyed your photos :) I like graffiti art myself too. I will follow :)

Sweet, that would be a great place for a model photoshoot!

it is indeed beautiful if you photograph it @tarazkp