ASW WEEKLY CONTEST #19 B&W - THE BEGINNING OF MY JOURNEY RESTORING A 1969 AMX ~ PLEASE READ THIS AND SHOW SOME LOVE!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

@TERMINALLYILL PRESENTS...


PicsArt_05-31-02.41.05.jpg


WHAT YOU SEE IS AN ORIGINAL 1969 AMX

PURE AMERICAN MUSCLE


terminallyill_red.png


Lucky is finally back ladies and gentlemen! I do apologize for the wait and for not being consistent in posting on my personal blog, but life and humanitarianism have been calling me non stop. With @greetersguild steadily pouring in hundreds of new members, @fundthefuture prepping for a full scale launch, me working on my own book as well as real life such as my beautiful daughter's birthday party, time has been a precious commodity lately. But, here I am, the man, the myth, the machine is back. Bear with me now my friends, this post is more about the photographs than it is the written portions, but I expect each of you will learn something new in this post whether it is brief or not. Though I am not a very good photographer, I have made an attempt to share this beautiful sight with you all, so show me some love. Prepare yourselves to dive head first into a small adventure of mine today, assessing a restoration project, namely this hunk of rusted metal called the AMX.

THANK YOU ALL FOR TAKING THE TIME TO CHECK OUT MY POST! PLEASE UPVOTE, COMMENT AND RESTEEM IF YOU ENJOY MY WORK!


PicsArt_05-31-02.38.29.jpg


THERE IS BEAUTY IN THIS HUNK OF RUSTED METAL

This piece of American muscle is called the 1969 AMX. The AMX was manufactured by AMC and was a widely produced GT style sports car in the 60's. The company behind the AMX is AMC (American Motor Company) which was a key player in the 1960's muscle car era. With various size engines, this sports car was built to take the street or the drag track, having some models capable of doing a 9 second 1/4 mile race. This particular model of the AMX is equipped with a 390 cubic inch engine ready to push 315 horsepower off of the jump. In other words, for the size, this yard queen could be a force to stand against on the street. The AMX is a truly fascinating vehicle and honestly, I cannot do it justice so it would be better left for Google. You can learn more about the AMX itself by clicking HERE.

The AMX photographed actually belonged to my father and was one of three that he owned after returning home from Vietnam. This one along with it's two sisters were all one owner vehicles, that ultimately ended up sitting on the treeline of our old family property in Maryland where my sister now resides. I was recently given all of these cars by my father and am soon to begin the restoration process, taking all three of these rare beauties and piecing them together to create one final vehicle.

It is going to be one Hell of a journey to restore, being a frame to finish job, but this will be a perfect documentary for the Steemit platform. Heck, I may even be able to teach some folks a few things regarding automotive repair, restoration or customization. So long story short, I was out assessing how to transport these things to another part of the property and couldn't resist taking a few photographs for you guys and gals. Please mind the quality, I am not a professional photographer by a long shot, but I will get better, I promise!


PicsArt_05-31-02.43.09.jpg


So I am also wondering how many of you have restoration projects going on? Do any of you have any yard queens or garage queens you want to show off? I am thinking about possibly starting a vehicle related challenge for people, but we will see LOL. For now, soak in this hunk of beefcake, the 1969 AMX!

amx2.jpg

These last two photos are not my favorites by a long shot, but they display the true beauty of the car's body style and features that make it what it is. I honestly cannot wait to get all three of them isolated with cover and start disassembling them down to the frame! Wouldn't it be awesome if I could get two cars out of the three instead of just one? Possibly I could have one for my daughter when she gets old enough to drive one of these responsibly (35 years old LOL).


I THINK THIS EFFECT IS COOL AS HELL

PicsArt_05-31-02.36.53.jpg


Even with some severely rusted areas, this car managed to have the most important piece in tact, a solid frame! This is a VERY rare find, especially in a yard queen that has been sitting since 1975. I will tell you one thing, being it has been in my family, I am going to take great pride in restoring this beauty and turning it into a force to be reckoned with on the drag track. My aim is to drop a big block engine in her and have her an 8 second car on the 1/4 mile, but we will see. Here's to a smooth restoration and me documenting it the whole time for the Steemit platform! Thank you all for reading! Show me some serious love everybody and curate this post like a boss!


sgg_footers8.png


terminallyill_blue.png


thealliance_logo.png


Sort:  

This is one heck of a project, great call @terminallyill. Some family heirlooms are silly little trinkets, tintype photos, and the you have the lost toys like this. This takes some serious work but I think you right now be the guy this car has been waiting for over 40 years. Keep up the great work and paying great things like this forward!

Thank you @cryptkeeper17!

It is certainly going to be one heck of an overhaul, but will be worth every second spent doing it. I am thinking about finding little tasks my daughter can aid me with while doing it so she has her hands in on it's restoration as well. I should have gotten some pictures of this AMX's two sisters as well LOL. Truly a blessing to have these for sure and I am ready to start the restoration this Summer more than likely, posting every bit of it on here :)

How have you been doing my friend? It has been a little bit since we crossed paths. I hope all is well!!!

Yep everything is great, I get to participate in an estate auction for a family member really soon, that will be nice to put at least a little bit of closure on that. They had passed a few months before I started on steemit. Looking back at it now I was one lost individual then. A few months went on, I got on here, moved on like my grandmother would not want but demand (you might know how them sweet but tough as nails Depression Era babies can be). Now everything is great, getting better every day, which I am glad to see it appears to be the same with you!

Yea I know how there are, my grandmother on my mother's side was one of them. Pure Sicilian, 2nd generation, mean as a dog shitting thumb tacks if you pushed her, but was sweet as could be if you knew your boundaries. I am happy that you are getting that closure though, it is a big thing. I have found in personal experience that it's best to get what closure you can from situations, while you can, because you cannot predict the future.

I am sorry to hear about your loss my brother, but all in the same happy to know that Steemit helped you on your personal journey, dealing with such loss. It certainly is not easy, but time heals things.

So what projects are you wrapped into these days broski? LOL that @lovejuice is awesome man, funny ass intro on their page also!

How freaking awesome man! That will be quite the journey! Hey, if the kiddo has any interest in it, let her join ya in the restoration! How cool would it be to have a car that you helped restore with your pops for your first car?! And especially a car like this one is going to be!

Yessssss I was just talking to @cryptkeeper17 about the idea of getting Savanna in on helping me restore it :) That would be so awesome and one Hell of a bonding experience for us both! We could end up keeping the car in the family for generations :D

Absolutely man! My grandfather used to build us home made go-carts! The memories I have of working with him, even if it was just handing him tools or cleaning her up, still stick with me to this day. Definitely a great opportunity! And at the age she is at, I bet she would still enjoy working with her dad! When the teenage years hit, that kinda goes away, especially if it hadnt been a regular occurrence in the past! Make memories my friend, memories that last a lifetime! <3

I cannot thank you enough for your continuous support @smylie2005 :) You definitely are my Steem Sister!

The memories are definitely a must, especially because tomorrow is not promised for anyone. I love spending time with her as is, so I imagine we are gonna be elbows deep on that project lol. Teens though.....ughhhh not looking forward to her becoming a teen and getting to cool for Dad....

Always! ;)

Im dreading those teenage years too! My baby girl is only 3 but those three years have flown by faster than I ever knew was possible. Gotta make the most of each day!

God isn't it ridiculous how fast the time goes? Mine will be 4 on the 12th of June. She starts school this year, I'm just like what the Hell man, I remember holding her on my chest when she was a tiny little thing and now she has full blown conversation with me LOL

LOL!! I know... I go through pictures often. Ive downloaded most of my pictures to my computer so when I get all Steemit out, I start going through them and become a basket case of emotions. It just goes by way too damn fast!

wow! what an old vehicle. i guess you spent alot of time to get this image.

@adeoyesteem it honestly wasn't bad to get to for photos but will be terrible to get out of the treeline and moved for restoration purposes!

You probably should dig the poor car out from under the tree, I'm sure its feeling a little lonely under there. Just as a start ;)

LOL it has befriended that tree I'm sure. Like may damn near be one with the tree in some form or fashion at this point :D It is definitely going to be one heck of a project. She's the pretty one of all the sisters HAHA her sisters are UGLY.

There are so many treasures in all places, just have to know how to look for them. Thanks for share with us this beautiful treasure, my friend. Regards from Venezuela ❤️

You are very welcome @mepy :) Looking forward to seeing some of your work myself. Thank you for all of the kind words and for reading my article!!!

Your welcome, my friend. I followed you to keep in touch, I want to see more of your work💖

:) Thank you so much @mepy

Have you heard of @greetersguild? I invite you to follow to their blog and join the Discord. You can find me on there.

Oh, thanks. I will join it, my friend. See you there 💖

Excelente foto. Un saludo desde Venezuela

Thank you my friend!

This post has received a 23.58% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @cryptkeeper17. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

This is awesome, thank you @cryptkeeper17 :)

You got a 37.50% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Thank you for the upvote @jpeparys :) I am happy to help and support, as well as @greetersguild! If you can, could you check out Greeters Guild posts and show some love on them? We are doing the community many favors!

Thanks again brother!

This post has received a 21.46% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Thank you @shares :) You guys rock! Check out @greetersguild when you can and show some love over there as well if you can! Thanks again my friends!!!!!

I LOVE a good muscle car and this one is a beauty! I can already see the finished product in my mind's eye :) Nice job on deciding to restore it! And I love the special effect photo as well; it reminds me of watching "real" film turned into animation.

Glad to have you back. I take it everything went well the other day?

Woah... that's some serious project lining up.

this is amazing.

Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Congratulations! You won an Honorable Mention in this weeks Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest "black & white" theme. I have 100% power upvoted your post!