Chattanooga's Tennessee Aquarium: Part 3

in #photography7 years ago

chrisdavidphoto 56in photography • yesterday

Underwater Shoot with Natasha
Meet Natasha - Sydney based student, dancer and aspiring model that answered one of my casting calls for models in…
$27.80
111 27
Resteemed by maliksaqib123
ats-david 73in photography • 3 days ago

Chattanooga's Tennessee Aquarium: Part 3
After my wife and I exited the excellent reptilian exhibits, we found ourselves in an unexpected exotic environment…
$155.25
278 94
Resteemed by maliksaqib123
joseph 72in life • 2 days ago

Would You Risk Being Detained In North Korea
If you're anything like me, you know some of the stories of United States citizens being detained in North Korea. The…
$168.30
469 82
maliksaqib123 11in funny • yesterday

Bird Person is making me feel funny
$0.00
3 2
zf90 48in health • yesterday

The benefits of star fruit
Star fruit is a nutritious plant complex for health in every part of the plant because other parts such as the leaves…
$0.00
6 1
mariachan 50in news • yesterday

Upgrading Dota 2 Dueling Fates will bring a new Turbo mode, two characters, a seasonal rating system and other improvements
Upgrading Dota 2 Dueling Fates will bring a new Turbo mode, two characters, a seasonal rating system and other…
$0.72
39 5
kamranmaknojia 39in art • yesterday

Awesome Designz Done 1000 + projects for the client all over the world :)
Awesome Designz team proudly announce that we are done 1000 + projects in few months...Thanks to all clients for your…
$0.58
11 4
mariachan 50in colorchallenge • yesterday

Color challenge - Wednesday yellow
​ ​ ​ My today enter to ColorChallenge by @kalemandra ​ ​
$0.57
45 3
dobartim 53in vehiclephotography • yesterday

Bicycle Is My Tourist Guide
In my city with beautiful attractions, good bicycle paths have been built, and I can easily get anywhere. Driving is a…
$0.08
7 0
Resteemed by steemit-tr
chronos 60in bitcoin • 2 days ago

World's Fastest KeepKey Unboxing
In this video, we open a brand new KeepKey device, a great little unit for securely storing Bitcoin, Ethereum…
$295.90
332 112
Resteemed by steemit-tr
steemitblog 70in logo • yesterday
•••

The New Steemit Logo is Here!
As you’ve probably noticed, things are looking quite different on steemit.com. We’ve been working on these changes for…
$948.16
590 571
swr1985 41in lifestyle • yesterday

6 One-Minute Morning Schedules That'll Make Beginning Your Day Less demanding
I used to begin the majority of my workdays lying in bed after my caution went off, gobbling up time looking through…
$0.27
18 2
Resteemed by mdtipo
roxane 64in utopian-io • 4 days ago

Collective Translation of the Steem Whitepaper (in french)
How it all started … 5 months ago, I arrived on Steem as a blogger. A blogger you know… Not a tech-crypto friend… I…
$64.03
47 8
Resteemed by dado13btc
litokarlegend 40in news • 2 days ago

Detoxification Of Electromagnetic Frequencies! 😜
Electromagnetic fields may be invisible to the eye, but the dangers they posses are real. As of right now, our…
$4.40
15 8
Resteemed by ghazanfar.ali
leopard0505 45in news • 3 days ago

Apple Iphone X Leak - Apple engineer lost his job
Hello Steemians, I was just listening a news that apple has fired an engineer who leaked the new Apple iphone X…
$8.27
6 3
ghazanfar.ali 53in nature • yesterday

The Supernova
Hi Steemit friends, have a look at an amazing Supernova explosion! image from pixabay.com Don't forget to…
$6.97
14 1
Back
Chattanooga's Tennessee Aquarium: Part 3
3 days ago
ats-david73 in photography
IMG_1130_oil_ats.jpg

After my wife and I exited the excellent reptilian exhibits, we found ourselves in an unexpected exotic environment filled with excitement!

We had walked around the aquarium and met some seahorses and starfish in the first installment of the Tennessee Aquarium series. Then we watched giant river rats, swam with alligators, and found a turtle doing stand-up comedy in the second installment. Now it was time to check out the seasonal exhibits atop the Ocean Journey building. Only this time, our journey was going to take us into the world of some dry-land creatures.

This is what we saw...

We reached the top of the escalators and stepped into a warm and sunny world. I saw a small furry animal high on a ledge at the back of the first exhibit. It was some sort of small, dog-like thing.

IMG_1124-1.jpg

He spotted me and appeared to be saying something...

"Why don't you take a picture? It'll last longer."

It was a good suggestion. A little blurry, but it really captured the brief moment we had together.

IMG_1125-1.jpg

I already knew what these next animals were! They're stripe-tailed rock monkeys! I read an article about them in the National Geographic magazine back in the 80s. I retain knowledge very well.

IMG_1130-1.1.jpg

This one preferred sitting in a fake tree. He probably knew it wasn't real though.

"Hey, guys. Check out my tail!"

IMG_1132-1.jpg

What do these guys see? Should I be worried?

Oh, great...now I'm worried.

IMG_1135-1.jpg

IMG_1137-2.1.jpg

This guy really just wanted to eat. That's my kind of monkey right there.

IMG_1208-1.jpg

IMG_1211-1.jpg

And this guy just wanted to play with the jugs. That's my kind of monkey right there.

IMG_1213-1.jpg

"Guys. For real. Check it out. My tail. Pretty cool, isn't it?... Right???... Guys???"

IMG_1216-1.jpg

We moved on from the needy monkeys and entered an enchanted and quite humid forest of insects. But they were the good kind of insects...

Butterflies!

IMG_1151-2.1.jpg

They were all shapes, colors and sizes, but the Indigos Giganticus were pretty hard to miss. And they also liked posing everywhere, which didn't hurt their chances of being photographed.

IMG_1153-1.jpg

"Hey! Look! I'm on a sign! Take my picture!"

IMG_1156-1.jpg

"Hey! Look! I'm on your camera bag! Take a picture!"

IMG_1170-1.jpg

"Hey! Look! I'm on a picture of me! Look! It's me! Take a picture of me...ON ME!"

IMG_1190-1.jpg

And here we have a butterfly on a wood hand rail.

IMG_1163-1.jpg

This butterfly is on a plant. It's an exotic plant. And an exotic butterfly. What a combo!

IMG_1172-1.jpg

Here is an orange and black butterfly on green leaf.

IMG_1173-1.jpg

Orange and black butterfly on green leaf, Part Deux.

IMG_1175-1.jpg

Butterfly on a stone bench. Maybe it was tired?

IMG_1180-1.jpg

Two butterflies fighting for food. Things were pretty intense for a moment. Can you feel the hostility?

IMG_1183-1.jpg

These friendly neighbors decided to share. As it turned out, there was plenty of food for everyone.

IMG_1184-1.jpg

I couldn't tell if this one was a boy or a girl. Color schemes can be confusing.

IMG_1187-1.jpg

Black on white.

IMG_1195-1.jpg

White on black. On white and green.

IMG_1196-1.jpg

What's this?

It's a bird!

It's a plane!

No! It's...

Oh...nope. Sorry. It's just another butterfly.

IMG_1197-1.jpg

That's all for episode three! We'll wrap things up in Part 4, coming soon!

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you enjoyed the photos. If you have any critiques or advice on photography, let us know in the comments. I don't have a true macro lens, so forgive the lack of fine details on the butterfly close-ups. Perhaps I'll get a good lens for those photos someday.

All photos were taken by me with my Canon 6D.