Lisa-Marie Outdoor Summery Shots - Photography - My Own Work

Introduction

As I keep saying I love monochrome/B&W photos and I also love portraits.  Here are some outdoor summery shots of Lisa-Marie the question is which looks better, the black and white versions or the colour versions?  

By the way I haven't done anything to Lisa-Marie's eyes they are actually that pale blue colour which really makes them stand out.  

I have had people previously thinking I photoshopped them to make them look like that - they really are that light blue colour!

These were taken just at the turn of autumn and so it was still quite bright and sunny but actually quite cold.  Lisa-Marie had to keep taking breaks to put on a coat and have a cigarette to warm herself up.  I've only just got round to processing these. 

I have a tonne more that haven't been processed - if people like them I can do more.  To be honest the colour ones don't take very long but the black and white ones can take a while due to all the potential options and adjustments.


The Photos

1 Colour


1 Black and White


2 Colour


2 Black and White


3 Colour


3 Black and White


4 Colour


4 Black and White


Let me know what you think of the shots as always.  Also if there are any particular questions you have or technique you would like me to discuss or explain please feel free to ask - I could do a new tutorial or just answer in the comments if there is enough space.


If you like my work please follow me and check out my blog (I don't just discuss photography) -  @thecryptofiend 


I have also created a new channel in the chat dedicated to photography of people/portraits called "Photography-portraits-people".  Please check it out and post your photos there.


Technical Information:

  • Nikon D800 Camera.
  • Nikon 85mm/1.8 lens, natural light with a front reflector.
  • Adobe Lightroom CC, Photoshop CC.
  • The model is Lisa Marie Thompson.

(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


My Previous Photography Posts and Tutorials:

Sort:  

Colour for sure - her eyes are amazing, but in B&W so much is lost.

I usually prefer b/w, however with this models piercing eye color, I have no other option, the color shots are the best. :)

Thanks. Yes her eyes look very striking even more so in real life if you see them:)

She has gorgeous eyes in both pictures but the ones that stand out to me are the monochrome, her eyes pierce you, amazing pictures

Thank you. Yes I prefer the mono ones too.

You are an angel!

Me or Lisa-Marie?

Nice portraits! My favorite is number 3 (colour)

Thanks. Glad you like them.

Very nice work! It's difficult to choose which I like best but I think the 1st colour photo stands out a bit more.

I think this is my favorite, but I would personally crop out anything from the middle of her forearm down and really do a full on face shot.

Thanks. Yes I often find myself being unable to decide if I should crop or not.

Here is a quick and dirty crop. I think if I was going to do it properly I would cut out the folded sleeve in the bottom right corner.

the B&W, amazing.

Thank you. I tend to like the B&W more too.

I like your crop of merej99's fav shot..it's my fav too :D XO great work @thecryptofiend! I really dig the black and white...I'm also super jealous of her raspberry beret ;-)

Great post, and beautiful photos, as always @thecryptofiend! Her eyes are really captivating in these images. Love the black and whites. I'm about to move my entire workflow to the iPad Pro now that they're allowing RAW editing. Any experience with that?

Thanks for your support. RE: Ipad Pro - Not yet. I only have a normal Ipad Air 2 which is not powerful enough - let me know how well it works. Maybe you could do a post on it? Would be useful when I'm due to change my Ipad.

I don't understand the use of all of this color. What is wrong with black and black?

My Goodness, she's so beautiful I really can't decide. When I'm looking at the color, I'm thinking, 'wow, those eyes!' and then when I see the bw, I think, 'stunning classic portrait'. Great photography, as always. I really enjoy your work.

Thank you. You are too kind:)