Two apples and refugees in The Netherlands

IMG_6310.jpeg

These two apples can say a lot about a someone's heart

So I’m working on a new photo-project focused on refugees in the Netherlands. I am not just a refugee was born one day when I went to do my groceries at the supermarket and I met Harry, a refugee from Nigeria who sells the newspaper at the front door, with whom I chatted casually and inspired me to tell refugee’s stories through my photography.

It was two days ago when we met a little after 2pm to have a chat previous to the photo shoot.
He showed up with lunch: a bag full of croissants, a litter of orange juice and a bag of apples and offers to share this with me.
I had eaten my lunch so I wasn’t hungry, and I thanked him. Still when time passed and I left he insisted on me getting at least one apple from the bag. I said no thanks, and he insisted again.
When I grabbed one he insisted again that I take a second one for my boyfriend. “Please, take one for him!” He said.

I didn’t want to take it, again, because I didn’t want to abuse his generosity and also because I know of his overall situation. I felt already honored by his collaboration with my project. But I got it at some point that the best I could do to honor his generosity and make him happy was to take the two apples with an open heart and gratitude.
And so did I.

I walked away with the two apples in my hand, so moved by his generosity that I was tearing up. What a gesture and what a lesson, I thought!

This person has a huge heart, he doesn’t care about money when he doesn’t have even a roof over his head every day (because he doesn’t), but he’s still so giving, so generous.

This has touched immensely my heart and makes me feel even more connected to my project and willing to do my best to tell their stories the best way I can.

You can follow my new Instagram account @iamnotjustarefugee and Facebook page where you will have shots and stories of refugees in The Netherlands very soon. Follow and stay tuned!

I leave you for now with a photo I took of my friend Harry with my phone :)

IMG_6309.jpeg

Thanks for your support, and hopefully see you there!

With love,
Mindi

Sort:  

Congratulations @theinspiredlife! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!