My New Photography Drone - DJI Mavic Pro

in #photography7 years ago

Hello and welcome my Steemian friends to a special blog post!

As most of you know I love photography and take picture whenever I can. I thought about expanding my equipment and maybe start to take some short movies as well. Ever since I saw the first drone I knew I wanted to have one. Today the day has come and I got the new DJI Mavic Pro.

One of the main reasons I chose the Mavic Pro is because of its transportability. You can fold it and it will fit into any bag: perfect for traveling! In a few weeks I will be in Crete and you can expect some nice aerial shots.


This is the box the drone comes with. Let's have a look inside



Upon opening the first thing you will see is the drone, the remote control and little pocket with cables inside


The controller where you can mount any phone. Used to see a live image from the drones 4k camera




The drone folded and unfolded


Inside the box you will find the drone, RC controller, extra propellers, several cables for Android and iPhone, several manuals, a charger and the intelligent flight battery.





Live in action!

I am preparing some aerial shots and my personal test report for you this week. We will get some technical facts for the DJI Mavic Pro and see its raw power! Can't wait to share the new perspectives waiting.

What do you prefer: Videos or Pictures?

See you soon and Steem on!
Tim
P.s.: I heard some of you miss my Myth or Fact series. Don't worry! I prepared one for tomorrow and it's time to bust some myths!

Sort:  
There are 4 pages
Pages

Oh man looks sexy af.. Did you take them pictures btw and if yes what set up did you use they look amazing :)

Cheers for the new toy and use it with joy 😄

Id love to buy one in the future if i gather some financial support from somewhere tehehe

💕. Goldie

I used a Nikon D750 with a 50mm f/1.8 lens for the pictures of the drone

The pictures are beyond professional 💖. And thanks for the upvote 😊 id kiss you but im too far away ^^ 😗

Pics look great! The sunsetting backlight gives it nice color! Looking forward to see some pics from the drone! It's on my wish list to get a drone.

It is all about light :) You captured the drone in a perfect light situation! Did you use an ND Filter for the wide open aperture?

Oh man looks sexy af.. Did you take them pictures btw and if yes what set up did you use they look amazing :)

Cheers for the new toy and use it with joy 😄

Id love to buy one in the future if i gather some financial support from somewhere tehehe

great.

Wow! That is so cool @timsaid! Looks real professional. Would love to see some videos from this thing. Are there goggles to see what this drone captures live? How many hours can it fly on one battety?

Yeah there are goggles! And it has a flight time of 27 min per battery charge which is pretty good

Watching with interest. I fly a DJI 3 professional but know it won't last forever as I fly over the sea and the salty air is not good for such things in the long term!
Can't wait to see what you get!

I hope Mavic and I will become good friends lol

You're the Casey Neistat of Steemit my friend!

I should get in touch with him and invite him to Steemit. Time to have a little shoot with him

Hahhaa Casey on Steemit would be interesting. Unfortunately, Casey isn't using drones that often anymore in his vlogs because he doesn't want to break the laws in NYC.

Casey is a rebel, once he discovers Steemit he may change his mind!

Drone and NYC is a nogo

That would be amazing!!!!

Good grief man - even your product review photos have the "Tim Filter" lol. Publish straight to magazine. I have to say your photography point-of-view and finishing style makes them incredible for story-telling. If you can achieve the same level of personal connection with video, then it would be great to have that mixed in.

I have't filmed anything yet so I don't know how the results will look like. But I think the right "eye" is what counts. Going to share some videos soon :) And thanks man! It's totally unintentionally that I use that filter haha

Definitely, the eye of the photographer can make or break the shot. I am interested to see how the drone video comes out. Do you have to register it in Europe? Here in the states you can't throw a paper airplane unless it's registered with the FAA as a Drone. lol So many rules.

i just see gopro drone at 999$+ some seconds ago.. damn, not cheap for me.
Hope you enjoy it!

This post received a 3.2% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @thecryptotrader! For more information, click here!

Yeah not cheap at all, that's true. I hope you will enjoy my shots

Awesome post @timsaid! Also your pictures are top notch.
I have been debating whether to get the Spark or the Mavic.

Nothing beats a DJI drones! By far superior than any drone out there, well thats just my 2 cents.

Oh to answer your question, dude no one wants to see photos, you buy a drone for 4K video, so make that happen :D

DJI ftw!

LOL i replied to myself....... Oh to answer your question, dude no one wants to see photos, you buy a drone for 4K video, so make that happen :D

I can't make a choice between videos or pictures. It depends on what is being portrayed. A little of both would be fantastic!!

Looks Like you have a big world in your hand.. I like your drone btw and hope you post pictures. Eagerly waiting for drone captures

I wont disappoint you

Wow ,, that is very cool. Now you will easily do your hobby. Thanks @timsaid

Taking shots without moving? No that's lame. I will be running and the drone has to chase me!

What do you prefer: Videos or Pictures?

With 4K we can have both! Congratulations for your new toy @timsaid, we are waiting new beauties from you.

Excellent photography ! I liked controller the most and its feature ♡

Yeah!!! And also it's not an expensive drone

i like this pictures, its so beatiful drones

It also has a feature where it follows you are without having to be controlled. I've wanted one of these for awhile

Congrats for mavic. It's definitely one of the best investment for travellers/ photographers

THAT IS SO LEGIT!!!

I would being interested in getting on used if it was not abused.

Holla!


Check out my good friend I just brought to steemit to share his drone footage of so epic surfing.
Best,
Isaac

https://steemit.com/video/@dailydoodle/some-surf-video-for-you-to-enjoy

Hi @timsaid
Your article is very useful, dji mavic indeed sophisticated drones.

Mavic Pro has the same camera sensor size with Phantom 4, i.e. 1/2.3 "(CMOS), but has a field of view that is much narrower so that if in-crop yield his photo/video is not as wide as DJI Phantom 4.

The picture quality on a Mavic already very nice and comes with a "Tap to Focus", where we can choose where to focus his camera must be. It means that you have to touch the part where on the picture you want to focus on in the DJI Go App.

Mavic Pro will be the smallest DJI drone until recently with the ability that can produce a video with a quality of 4 k

DJI Mavic Pro, can be said to be the world's smallest drone products have made a lot of people will has sophistication. Thousands of these products every day are sent to many users of drones in various corners of the world. DJI Mavic Pro is also one of the best because of the drone sau so far only had a few users reported problems. Thank you to have shared

Nice! I've been thinking of getting one. Just not sure that I'd use it that often...but it just looks so cool! I saw it first on one of Casey Neistats vlogs. It has a cool feature where it can follow you. Maybe you can do a cool review of it doing that?

How far can it fly?

hey @timsaid ! congrats on your investment.

I've had one for a couple months, and let me say... I love my Mavic Pro!

Best of luck to you with yours.

btw, what type of camera did you take these photos with?

Also, be careful with "Sport Mode" - it is absolutely thrilling and terrifying. And I skipped on the recent firmware update, as I hear a lot of people switch back... just a heads up.

:)

I just got a bit jealous. Sweet drone @timsaid. Looking forward to seeing some aerial shots.

Nice drone!

Awesome @timsaid I use this same drone to film a lot of my production videos and other online teaching videos! One thing to know is that before you take pictures with this drone and try and sell them (if that is your intent, maybe its not which is ok as well :) you need to have a license to legally do this. This video really helped me understand a lot about the Mavic pro when I first got it and I hope this video helps you as well incase you were unaware of a few of these things :)

So cool, like all the features. Can't wait to see some awesome pictures.

This one is a blessing for photography and videography. Best part, it's so compact you can take it anywhere.

awesome, cant wait to see some footage

This is cool. I want one too :) How much did it cost?

I'd actually just picked up my first little cheapo $60 drone to muck around with.. Has a 4MP 30fps camera on it and little to no stability controls or safety features found on the more expensive units.. Good thing the damn flying machine only weighs a few grams, given I've bounced it off the floor and walls more than a few times now.

I'm Jelly! Very nice rig dude. Excited to see footage from it. :)

DJI is amazing, I hope you will make extreamly nice videos, and share with us!

I am sure in the near future I will also buy a DJI!
Great post! Follow you!

wow! looks pro. When we can expect first photos from it?

I always have problems controlling drones xD but they're fun for sure! Put it to good use and don't crash :)

Awesome post, would love to get a drone.

Your Bokehs are amazing.. love your photos...

nice look....upvote and resteem :)

nice done!!! like this photos!

Very high-quality photos of the drone in action. This is my first time reading one of your posts and I am impressed. So many of the #photography posts are spam cake or low quality. It's good to see this.

It's interesting timing as well. Yesterday I was talking with @furion about the #Viewly project, which is a way to host videos on Steemit using a combination of blockchain technology and other technologies. Look out, YouTube!

Do you upload your video to YouTube? Have you thought about using Steemit to generate revenue off not only your posts but your videos, as well?

drone footage is really cool.

That is so cool. I have played with smaller ones, but I hear these are awesome.

@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @unprovoked. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @timsaid to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @OriginalWorks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Mine already has a camera problem and it seems many have problems with the drone!... Called them and they get pallets of drones back... they are 8 days behind, just for putting them into the computers...

NICE pics man! KEEP IT UP!

Amazing photos!!! Also the new DJI Sparks looks great!!

Sure, this post have greats pictures. i like the resolution

Hi Tim! Nice post and great pictures! I think about to buy one too... :-) thank you for sharing this with us.

Looking forward for new pictures (ツ)

These are an amazing piece of technology. I actually pre-ordered one a year ago in early September to be delivered end of October to use in my overseas island hopping trip in December but had bad luck when they couldn't meet demands and delivery dates got pushed as far as Feb. I ended up having to cancel that order and now the harsh realities of a struggling photographer/artist the version 2 might be out by the time I have cash again to afford it.
It will be great to see what you manage to create with this tool.

post ur first cilck with drone:)

I wish i could have one

There are 4 pages
Pages