The Mundane as Art: Moss and Lichen - The Man of Haida Gwaii

204.jpg

I hope I'm not too late for this contest. I have so many photos from the forest in Haida Gwaii. The land of moss and lichen.

CategoryMundane Art
Hosted by@kus-knee
CameraCanon Powershot SX60
LocationHaida Gwaii, BC, Canada

trulafountaine-2.png
© 2017 Trula Fountaine. All rights reserved.

alliance.jpg

syndicates.png team-canada.pngthealliance2.png

Chat with us on Gamma Syndicate and Team Canada on Discord

@originalworks

Sort:  

Amazing how the lichens add an unusual texture to the carving and make it look SO ancient. 🦋

Indeed, @allyinspirit. It certainly adds character to his lich-ness. It is interesting to note where the moss and lichen have placed itself.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 28 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

He is quite marvelous!! Great shot!

Thank you, @melina010100. He does have great character and lich-ness. I couldn't resist the play on words. :)

Excellent entry, Trula! I'm "lichen" this one!

Hahaha, good one Nina! I'm happy you're lichen it. I do love lichen and moss. Did you know that there are nearly 10,000 species of moss? Did you also know that moss has the same air-purifying effect as 275 regular trees? And it is beautiful! Our earth provides, if only we would take care of it.

Incredible photo, the wooden carved stature is quite amazing - and then with all that moss and lichen - it's quite funny how it only grows on certina bits.
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Yes, this shot is really fun. Thank you for your comment. Nature has its own artistic flare.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 2 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

really amazing one love it