i wonder what this cloud formation is? anyone?

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_3831 (1).JPG
we took this picture while driving back from Solvang California.

it is so big that it does not make any sense to me, as it was the only cloud in a sunny blue sky
IMG_3832.JPG
it also looks like a big cocoon in the sky

we took this with an iphone, i wish i had my camera with me to zoom it further. but we were so mesmerized by this figure. that we just had a lot of questions as to what type of cloud formation this maybe. my husband insisted that it might be a lenticular cloud, but usually its visible near a mountain or volcano like Mt Shasta or Mt Fujitumblr_lybcx9CVWM1qe0lqqo1_1280.pngdownload.jpg
Mt Shasta and Mt Fuji lenticular cloud formation

well im just glad to have witnessed this wonders of the gods creation i guess, a natural phenomena, or paranormal, what do you think?IMG_3833.JPG

thank you for viewing, as to i haven't seen anything like this in my life.
upvote and follow me

Sort:  

My first thought was this!

Hmm! I was driving when my wife @veravalle took this photo. Its really big, the phone could not justify it. And looks like a ship. It wont break with the wind. It was just staying there. How i wish i took a video of it.

yeah it resembles that but thats so big hehe

Isn't nature amazing? Although...Solvang isn't that far from Vandenberg Air Force Base... Thanks for sharing this photo!

Hmm! Interesting. Maybe some experiment of some sort!

indeed it is, better than any movie or any form of entertainment. Hmm maybe its harp then or some sort. i just followed you hope you follow me!

Thanks. Following you as well.

Great :)

thank you. i just followed you @prakashghai hope you follow me too

Followed you back :)

Cool you went to Solvang.
I think your husband is right. It looks like a Altocumulus lenticularis. They form from airflow over hills mountains and even large buildings

I knew it. But its just weird seeing it. We were so close to it on time going down the hill. Its like a furry coccoon hehe. And the only cloud in the sky.

thank you for the info, it looks unusually awesome. i followed you @lakshmi hope you follow me too

My cad was a meteorologist so I guess a little knowledge spilled over :)

beautiful pictures @veravalle