Harp Kitten - Caturday

I can't remember if I've shared this kitten before or not... (That's why I log previous posts on my templates now.)

Anyway, this is Ajax. He was half of a litter I bottle-fed back in 2007.

IMGP0959_1k.JPG

The harp is a Celtic lap harp that I picked up in 2005 when I lived in Reading, England. It was about as close to an impulse purchase as I make in the £250 range... I saw it... went home... thought about it... and after school or the next day (or something) went back and bought it.

For me, because I'm short, it wasn't a "lap" harp, but a floor harp that I could sit behind - or next to. I learned enough to play a pretty tune and even took it to Mass on Sundays and played with the choir. I wasn't very good, but it was fun (and looked good, anyway.)

With kittens and babies in the house again the next couple of years, I was afraid of the harp falling and 1) hurting a kid/kitten or 2) damaging it. (There was some damage to it as it was, a couple of levers were bent by one such fall.) So, I began keeping it on its spine so that it was more stable and less likely to fall - and if it did, it was much less likely to damage or be damaged.

Of course, Ajax wasn't looking to make pretty music, just spying on his brother and thinking about how he could spring through the gap there... but it looks like he's playing it. This is one of my favorite pictures of our cats/kittens.

I even posted the picture on the Facebook page of the "Harp Twins" once - they loved it.

Cats are so difficult to photograph... the kittens are so active and the adults hate the camera... so the moment before a pounce (or when they're otherwise distracted) is the name of the game!

Photos taken by myself in 2007 with my Pentax K100D.


Previously... (All PeakD links now!)

Kitten Anticipation , Brothers ,



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter


Discord Link

Sort:  

Such a cuttie.

Have a good day!

Awww Ajax looks so cute! 😍😍 I hope Midnight & Twilight will turn out just as cute 😊😊 I let them go outdoors during the day, so they could be with their cousin kittens 😂😂 at night when we lock up, I bring them inside 😉👍

Good fun! I'm glad yours are doing well too.

Ajax is so adorable!

Happy Caturday!

!tip

Thank you so much! Yes, he was a lovely kitten.

🎁 Hi @viking-ventures! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @saboin!

@saboin wrote lately about: My First Caturday On The Hive Blockchain! 🐈 2020-03-21 Feel free to follow @saboin if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

i am looking forward to seeing you post a blog of you playing your harp!

Unfortunately, it had to stay in Britain when I came back to the US... so, that will have to wait until my mother lets me have/buy her smaller harp... (already promised some time ago, but hasn't happened yet.)

Cutie pie it is

With kittens as cute as this one it is ok to post them more than once :)

Awww, thanks!

Ajax is such a pretty cat! 😻💚