A Mental Asylum Cemetery (1902 - 1964) a Photo Essay

in #photography6 years ago

Pitkäniemi (built in the late 1900’s) is a mental asylum situated in Nokia. Near the hospital is an old cemetery for the patients. It was in use 1902 - 1964 and 426 patients were buried there during those years. The hospital area is quite large and beautiful but somewhat secluded - the cemetery seems almost hidden.

The treatment (and classification) of mental issues has since developed and many could consider the old practices crude and against human dignity. For instance, some mental handicaps were considered severe enough for the patients to be locked away in these asylums. According to Wikipedia, during 1935 - 1970 a lot of forced sterilizations were issued for the patients as the procedure was legal and because ‘the mentally insane were considered sub-par individuals to benefit human race’. The practice has since been prohibited and is considered a severe crime against humanity.

Also during the war years between 1939 - 1945 Finland, among so many other countries, was struck by famine and epidemic diseases like tuberculosis. As food was being rationed, a regular patient would have merely one third the amount of food to a ‘normal citizen’. There are stories of patients eating grass off the ground in order to survive. Similar has been reported to happen in the prison camps during this era.

Currently the cemetery is quite well kept: it seems clean, the grass is cut regularly and apparently the premises are visited by a security company. There is a path leading to the gates and it’s locked from traffic with a bar.

The area itself isn’t that big: it rises uphill to a ridge on the other side, on the other side is a small bit of woods in front of a highway. There are only a few regular gravestones, the rest are just rocks roughly cut into a rectangle shape.

In 1992 the asylum patients raised a memorial monument for those buried there. There’s a passage from the bible saying “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you.” from the book of John.

Thanks for your visit and support!
Click here for more

Sort:  

Wonderful post. I felt really stupid because I knew Nokia only as a phone brand. Thank you for telling us about it.

Hey and thanks for your comment! A few weeks back I wrote this post that could be of your interesf also. Have a nice weekend!

Thank you for sharing these images and story <3

Thank you for your support and visit!

Congratz, your post has been featured in The Daily Spotlights of 23 February 2018!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.95 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.19
Server time: 19:31:22
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 467.49/800.00
Total Photos: 50
Total comments: 93
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 22 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 28 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.