Mt. Wrightson Photos

in #photography7 years ago

In March I took a trip to Tucson, AZ. One of my goals was to hike to the top of Mt. Wrightson. It's the tallest peak in the Santa Rita Mountains. I included a few of my favorite photos. All photos were taken with my Motorola X cell phone. The mountain was gorgeous and I recommend visiting Madera Canyon to anyone who happens to be near Tucson.

IMG_20170317_115507284.jpg

View from the summit, looking south. You can see all the way to Mexico!

IMG_20170317_074136797_HDR.jpg

The hike to the top starts in Madera Canyon. It's amazing how green the canyon was compared to the desert below. I believe the tree in this shot is an Arizona Sycamore.

IMG_20170317_115438711.jpg

View from the summit. The large blue and white feature on the opposite side of the highway is an open-pit copper mine. The mine is open for guided tours and I'd recommend it if you're interested in massive machinery.

IMG_20170317_115456476.jpg

View of neighboring Mount Hopkins and the observatory. A road leads up to the observatory and it is also open for tours. The whole observatory building rotates with the telescope.

IMG_20170317_133048657.jpg

Memorial to the three boy scouts who died during a blizzard on the mountain. I took a moment to pause here on my way back down.

IMG_20170318_185438196 (2).jpg

The next day I triumphantly pointed out the peak. The hike was rough, but manageable. I'd recommend spending a day in Madera Canyon. I enjoyed seeing some green and getting out of the desert heat. The mine tour and observatory tour are also worthwhile activities. There's a lot to do in Tucson and the surrounding area.

Sort:  

amazing @vir, we must have just missed each other. I went with a friend to summit Wrightson in late February, but was rebuffed by some snow and wind. Thanks for sharing!

What a coincidence! There was still some snow in the shady areas when I made it up there. Cool!