Amateur Photographer - Saying hello to the community!

in #photography7 years ago

Hello everybody, I’m an amateur photographer who has been doing photography for some time now. As this is my first time posting on steemit I’ll share a bit of my journey.

It all started 6 years ago when I bought my first digital camera, a canon 60d. In the beginning I only shooted in Jpeg and didn’t rely on edition (at that time I considered it to be kind of “cheating” but the truth is that I was just too lazy to learn how to do it as I was busy trying to figure out my new camera).

Two years and approximately 10000 photos later I decided it was time to take the next step, started shooting raw and invested some time in learning how the editing software worked. Yes, I’m guilty of pushing that saturation slider all the way to the top!

At that time I was pleased with the results but, upon posting some photos on the social media, I noticed something was wrong.. The colors were clearly different from what I intended and started getting frustrated. That’s when I learned that my screen was not calibrated and had no means to correct it!! The solution: start shooting in black & white!

This was one of the biggest turning points in my photography style (my screen is calibrated now and I still mostly shoot in b&w). As this post is already getting too long I’ll save the 2nd part to the next one. Below are two of my favorite photos from this phase.

TL;DR: Amateur photographer here, hope you guys like my work!

Feel free to ask any questions!

And don't forget to upvote and follow if you like my work, I really appreciate it! :)

steemit1-1.jpg
Predio.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @vitor.costa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @vitor.costa! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @vitor.costa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ commemorative badge refactored
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!