You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Koeksisters: South African Treats!

in #photography6 years ago

Thanks so much for stopping by @lizelle! I wonder if they could be made with agave nectar or another sugar substitute? I've also only just learned that there's a Malay treat called a koe'sister, a soft donut rolled in coconut and not nearly as sweet- sure they can be dipped in a little stevia or agave for a similar effect. Astounded at the amount of diabetes-friendly recipes popping up all over the place! Will pop you a link whenever I find anything tasty! My new favourite is avocado and coconut mousse sweetened with xylotol- you wouldn't believe there's avo in it! You also have the lovely butter avos at your disposal, the ones here take quite a lot more blending! Congrats on your salad, btw!

Sort:  

Worth giving it a try, I love those Malay Koe'sisters, but then I love anything with coconut!
That mousse sounds great, would love the recipe!
Thank you @whattheduck, did not expect a placing at all, yours was amazing!

Here's the link for the mousse, I tried it with chocolate chips and it ended up oily- definitely recommend using cacao powder instead. I've also figured out a blended banana makes a great substitute for the sweetener. Let me know if you try it! https://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2015/10/15/avocado-chocolate-mousse-vegan-healthy/