Roses and Thorns

in #photography6 years ago

I spent the better part of my day cooped up inside in my room, so I decided to unicycle around campus and check out the rose gardens.

1.jpg
Fig 1. A humble pink rose.

Every beautiful flower, after blooming gloriously, must wilt and allow another bud to grow.

2.jpg
Fig 2. A rose against the azure sky.

A sunset gives lighting that’s similar to a sunrise.

3.jpg
Fig 3. Yellow roses basking in the last few minutes of sunlight. I think this is the Sunsprite cultivar.

Imperfections are undesirable. But if everything is perfect, then nothing is. It is the tiny flaws that allow us to appreciate true beauty. Some petal splotches and insect marks are a small price to pay.

4.jpg
Fig 4. A white rose gazing in the direction of the Pacific Ocean.

“A flower doesn’t know it’s a flower. It just is one.” - Tricia Takanawa

5.jpg
Fig 5. A pink rose. I think most of these roses are floribunda roses, which are a cross between the beautiful Chinese rose (Rosa chinensis) and the prolific many-flowered rose (Rosa polyantha).

Why do the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns?

6.jpg
Fig 6. That with the softest features tend to have the sharpest edges.

It wasn’t cloudy today, so I thought I might as well capture this moment.

7.jpg
Fig 7. The Vancouver sunset, July 2 2018.

Thanks for checking this out! I wanted to make a flower pun, but I rose above it. Please let me know what pictures y’all want to see and leave a comment below!