Grand Canyon Experience by Accident

in #photography4 years ago (edited)

By Accident.
It was January of 2013. Google maps was still quite buggy at that time, and I wasn't very keen on how to use it, as well.
11y1cs.jpg

I accidentally got lost.

My initial intention was to go to this place, which was not so far from Las Vegas:
4awj03.png

  • Look the amount of time I was supposed to take.
    Now compare with the one down below:
    fu3k94.png
    Even when the trip is good, there is a moment you realise something might be going wrong...
    o8g94k.jpg

And..... after 3 hours driving, I realized something was wrong....
qwcsi1.jpg
The ride was taking too long. It was supposed to be only 2 hours..... I started to wonder Google sent me to the main Grand Canyon spot as I innocently typed ONLY "grand canyon". I admit, maybe my fault, but it was worth it.

1idlul.jpg
It turns out there were many different places pointing Grand Canyon on the map.

I admit my innocence. 😅
BUT....

Going to Grand Canyon National Reserve was a MUCH, MUCH better idea. If I knew it before, that would be my first option, for sure..

I arrived there around 6 PM, and everything was RED. Take a look:

0021hz.jpg
It was magical. Super cool.

8curhk.jpg
I highly recommend you to visit this place.
d4itxt.jpg
The price was 20 dollars to enter in the National Reserve. I was originally planning to sleep inside the car, but it got too cold. I had to pay 95 dollars to sleep in the cheapest room. There are some hotels inside the Reserve, and places to park Trailers as well. In case you've made some profits in this bull market, definitely sleep in a hotel where you have a window in front of the canyon!

This post is bigger than I usual, but the pictures are worth the effort here:

8aa14d.jpg

Imagine yourself at 7 A.M. looking at this. It's awesome.

There wasn't many people that day. Most probably because of the winter.

The snow was still on the ground. It got pretty cold during the night.
73ietm.jpg
Just don't die without visiting this place. I'd say it's one of the 10 places you have to go in your life.
I felt very lucky for going there by accident. 😎 🤟
ndgx2o.jpg
Amazing view.
ml1543.jpg
My camera got a bit blurry, but I had to take some pictures. There was no choice.
ch9wf7.jpg

  • Now I found my place. Hermit's Rest.
    9va0z2.jpg
    What a view. While walking towards the end of my path, I suddenly found a Masonic Stone from many years ago. Super interesting.
    719z3a.jpg
    Cool, right?
    x25w8r.jpg
    Even the Masons went there. Just do not ask me why.

ujov08.jpg
This place is mysterious. I won't deny.
0skssq.jpg
Sing to God.
acmt3z.jpg
Almost there!
8t5q1j.jpg
The road was very nice as well. You can get pretty good views while traveling to the National Reserve.
6y1rr0.jpg
Trying to bring some drama.
cqvpqy.jpg
With the panorama you can get an idea of how big it is.
9tjbmr.jpg
This is the stone. More than 100 years ago. What you think about that?
z51qci.jpg
Think about it while looking at the last photos.
rwsrhn.jpg
How long do you think you can stay in there, just thinking?
x1osjg.jpg
I just left at 6 P.M the next day.
1idlul.jpg
Well, that was my album, I hope you enjoyed it and take this experience into consideration in case you are planning your next vacation.

Have a good one fellow Steemian, may the force be with you, always.

🔆

#review
#experience
#trip
#nationalreserve

Sort:  

Awesome views :)

Thank you very much 😊 it feels good to be sharing this experience after all these years. Something only my closest friends knew, just became Public here . Amazing 😉

What an amazing trip @xmauron3, and you got great pics for it. I guess this is why they call it the GRAND Canyon. The 100 year old inscription still looks new.

Great post. So glad to see it today and glad you got off track :)

@tipu curate

Thank you for your kind words. 😁
I got lucky this time, for sure.
🍀
Good to know you had a good time checking my post!
Cheers
🖖

I've been to the Grand Canyon so many times. I used to live in Arizona and it was pretty much the main attraction

That’s very cool! :)
Living close to nature by itself is awesome.

Being able to go to one of the most beautiful places of earth on weekends is a blessing :)

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to xmauron! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Enjoyed reading it


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
 4 years ago  Reveal Comment