When a minute old turtle meets the ocean - a life changing experience in Barbados

in #photography5 years ago

It all was just a coincidence

A walk on the beach that touched my soul

15960387992_02fd24288f_b.jpg

Sea turtle hatching. Photo:by hannahjane.bis licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Dark beach

The sun had set and the sandy beach was now dark. No moon, few stars. Earlier that evening I started walking east on the beach. I walked further than I planned to. It was certain I will not be able to make it back before dark.

IMG_3846.jpg

Barbados. Beach before dark

I’ve been on anchor in beautiful Barbados for more than two weeks now, yet I have not explored the shore past the Barbados Yacht Club, a few minutes walk eastwards. This is very unlike me. If there’s a long, soft white sand beach with crystal clear turquoise water on a new island, like here in west Barbados, I usually walk as far as possible.

IMG_3798.jpg

Barbados anchorage in front of Barbados Yacht Club

There were no people on this section of the beach at night, no structures or lights. Just white sand, dark water and bushes or trees higher up above the shore. I’ve now reached the surf spot - some surfers were hanging out there around a small fire - and walked past it.

IMG_3830.jpg

Walking east on Barbados beach

Then I saw them

Small dark things moving on the sand towards the water line. At first I thought these were small crabs. But they were too slow for crabs. I crouched on the sand to get a better look. Turtles! Tiny little sea turtles.

They were a minute old, just hatched. They moved with incredible determination for such small new creatures. Moving their small flippers just a centimeter at a time, yet they made good distance and fine speed.

IMG_3840.jpg

Part of the beach has a wood planks promenade. Barbados

It was incredible

I sat on the sand at a distance from them, not to disturb, and watched as these delicate creatures approached the water - their home for the rest of their lives - for the first time. Those that hatched a few seconds earlier than their brothers and sisters had already reached the water. They had no hesitation and let the tiny shore waves take them. They knew. The water is relatively safer than the open shore and they wanted to get there as fast as possible.

How does it feel?

I wondered, for them, to touch water for the first time. Is it cold? dark? salty? bumpy? Does it feel like home? Safe and warm?

IMG_3859.jpg

Carlisle Bay. Barbados. Anchored here for 3 weeks

I just could not believe it. I was so lucky. People fly across the world to special man made turtle sanctuaries, just to see this super exciting and rather rare event. And here was I, so blessed, getting to experience by mere chance, sea turtles hatch.

This was nature at its best, not a manmade sanctuary. Although the Hilton is just minutes walk to the west and the coastal road a few minutes inland, the turtles still managed to lay eggs that hatched and the babies made it to the ocean, unassisted.

There were not many baby turtles there that evening. Maybe a hundred. And they all made it to the water. No humans, birds, crabs, rats or dogs had a chance to disturb them. They all made it through - so small and tender - to the big ocean.

Watching the baby turtles

Advance slowly but consistently on the sand, overcoming all obstacles - a mere human footprint in the sand was a huge valley for these babies - made me emotional.

Looking at them - making their first steps, then a first ocean touch, first swim, a group together but each one moving alone - it did something to me. It wasn’t just joy and happiness that filled my heart. It was more than that.

IMG_3836.jpg

Beach bar. Barbados

Light inside

My eyes started watering. It was as if I was watching mercy, creation, beauty and love come together to a sum larger than its parts. And it filled me with light. I don’t know what it was.

Just a pure, clean feeling. It felt like the experience is changing me, teaching me, showing me something I had forgotten. I was blessed, they were blessed, and life was full of so much good.

IMG_3834.jpg

Just a walk on the beach. Barbados

I waited until

All made it safely to the water, and a few minutes more, just to make sure there are no late comers. Once the last baby turtle entered the water, no others were seen. They were all synched to hatch, walk the sand and dive the ocean at the same time.

IMG_3829.jpg

The surf spot. Barbados

It was truly a wonder

A life changing experience for me. Surly for the baby turtles……

Have you ever seen baby sea turtles hatch?

Where?
When?

I didn't want to take any pictures as the camera flash might disturb the tiny turtles. All pictures unless otherwise noted, are mine

Hope you enjoyed!

@yannay

Sort:  

Wow the HDR photos are so real in this picture. Also I love the landscape and the close up on the turtle was awesome!!

As an avid amateur photographer, what would you recommend when getting inspiration for your photography. So far I only have a few and use my son as a model in most of my pictures.
I have started a blog on @justicerho on steemit
https://steemit.com/photography/@justicerho/va-living-museum
would any be willing to read and give some tips on what they like or what they would correct? Thanks!!

Such an evocative piece of writing.

It's always so interesting when a holiday collides with something else that is not usually part of the holiday narrative. In this case the plight of turtles !

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=yannay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=when-a-minute-old-turtle-meets-the-ocean-a-life-changing-experience-in-barbados


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @yannay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 30 posts. Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #500.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Wow! Thank you! It is truly an honor. I love maps, stories and interesting content and you guys are doing a great job combining all the above

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #311!

If you give @ocd a follow – you can find other Gems!


With this nomination you will be able to use @ocdb - a non-profit distribution bot for whitelisted Steemians. Check our website for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information. We usually add everyone nominated at the end of the week. :)


We also have a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

We strive for transparency!

I like your comment 'just a pure clean feeling.'
I know exactly what you mean and thoroughly enjoyed your experience with you.
You write well. Keep up the good work.

Thank you @justjoy ! It really means a lot to me here in steemit where i'm still uncertain if quality content is indeed rewarded accordingly, or is it just a pyramid sceme

Sea turtles are so cute. I wish I was there' I love the ocean. I just want to see it in person.
"turtles are my favourite animal. {especially baby ones}.