IS ALOE VERA A FLOWERING PLANT?

in #photography6 years ago

I travelled down to my parent's since i was on sabbatical and needed to change environment and of cos visit them. Its been a year i saw them last. This morning, i decided to take a walk around the courtyard and my eyes caught the site of an orange spikes on a stalk on the aloe vera plant bucket. I asked my mum, "Is that aloe vera flower?" She replied, "no way! Aloe vera do not grow flowers". Was i convinced? No, so i decided to go closer and check it out and wow, it is indeed an aloe vera flower.

I have always known aloe vera as a short steemed shrub but never as a flowering plant. The medicinal value of the aloe vera gel cannot be overemphasized as it is one plant with multi-medicinal uses. I still remember mummy cooking the gel with lipton then forcing us to drink it. She claims it was good for the stomach especially for indigestion, constipation and gastro-intestinal problems. This makes me wonder what could be the medicinal value of its flower?

I do not know how long it takes an aloe vera plant to grow flowers but i know that ours is about 8 years old and this is summer so im guessing the flower buds in summer. It was a beautiful sight to behold. Someone said it is a good vegetable for making stew and salad and it has therapeutic effects, well i wouldnt know for a fact but i would appreciate if someone can research on it so we can know more about its medicinal value.

Yeah i took some shots. I am not a professional photographer but i think i tried...lol.
20180830_092321.jpg
This is the aloe vera plant with the flower from a distance

20180830_092403.jpg

20180830_092349.jpg
the flower stalk growing from the stem of the aloe vera plant

20180830_092340.jpg
a new flower bud

So this it, any ideas what this flower can do?

All pictures taken from my samsung tab A6

Sort:  

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Warning! This user is on my black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
If you believe this is an error, please chat with us in the #cheetah-appeals channel in our discord.