Lonely Tree

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Lonely Tree
(OC)

This is a photo I took a couple of decades ago on a film SLR camera, and I was really pleased at how it came out. I had it printed at 8x10 (hence the graininess, which I also like) and scanned it at very high resolution. I scaled the image down so browsers wouldn't choke on it, but it's pretty true to the full scan.

I don't remember all the details, but the camera was a mid-range Canon EOS series, and the film was probably some generic ISO 400, which was my favorite for outdoor shots at the time. The scene is a cloudy, early-winter day on a university campus in the Northeast USA.

I used to be an avid film photographer, in the days when DSLRs were way out of my price range. Recently, a conversation with @markkujantunen, along with some of his photos (and those of other Steem photographers) have motivated me to dig out the DSLR I bought a few years ago and start re-learning how to take decent photos.

It's going to take a little while for me to get back in the photography groove, so I thought I'd post some of my old photos in the meantime. This is the first of a few!

Sort:  

Congratulations @zyzzyva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!