Spotlight on Belvins

in #photos6 years ago

@belvins is a Steemian photographer I follow. Below is my favorite photo of theirs from the past two weeks. I love how the bridge, building & trees are reflected in the water. Also, that it's in sepia. I feel that sometimes black & white or sepia captures moments that color can't. Do check out their other photos & posts.

This is the Landwehrkanal. It's a 6.6 miles (6.6 mi) long canal parallel to the Spree river in Berlin, Germany. It was constructed between 1845 and 1850 according to plans by Peter Joseph Lenné. It joins the upper part of the Spree at the Osthafen (Eastern Harbour) in Friedrichshain with its lower part in Charlottenburg, running through Kreuzberg and Tiergarten.

Lenné planned a canal with inclined walls, an average width of 66 ft at the surface and locks near both ends to control the water depth. In the course of two expansions (1883–1890 and 1936–1941), it reached a breadth of 22 m (72 ft) and a depth of 2 m (6.6 ft). Today the waterway is mainly used by tourist boats and pleasure craft. To learn more, pelase go here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Landwehr_Canal

Sort:  

Oh wow, thank you so much for featuring me, @gypsybutterfly! I have missed that until now. I did not know that there is even an english Wikipedia article about the canal, so, thanks for sharing the information:)