My 60,000 Watt Tesla coil

in #physics7 years ago

I made a quick video to show my progress over the last few months.
Quick, because I did not add an audio track or text explaining what you are seeing.
I'm just not good at it and so it takes a long time to get it in a presentable form.

So let me tell you here.

  • 0-0.08: We had build a system to generate roughly 1.5 MV in short pulses. That was useful in some experiments but for other measurements we need a more constant operation.
  • 0.08-0.36: To achieve this we would need much more power and control over that power. Also we don't want to produce mayhem on the net so we needed a generator. We got a 100 KVA diesel generator.
  • 0.36-0.42: Since we have 2 HV transformers we would be better of with a 2 phase supply rather than 3 phase, so we rewired the generator to give 440V (phase-phase)
  • 0.42-0.50: this power goes to our two HV transformers.
  • 0.50-0.53: we ti-rapped all the wires from the secondary to the wooden frame (that was only done partially before)
  • 0.54-1:44: I made this arduino controlled static spark-gap which you can set to any voltage (spark distance) and it has some extra features (like discharging the capacitors).
  • 1:44-1.59: first test, notice the smoke rising next to the red ("extra") coil
  • 2:00: see the damage that the sparks do on the spark gap
  • 2.02: and... that was where the smoke came from
  • 2:04-2.17: repairs on the secondary coil

the process of testing and repairing is repeated a couple of times
around 2.52-2.55 the coil seems to work fine, but then it fails again.

  • 3.10: lots of silicone kit used....
  • 3.22: but the problem remains...

Now, I am rebuilding the coil...

Enjoy the video!

Sort:  

Fantastic, my friend @mage00000!

Thank you for sharing your progress with us all. I'm glad I got back here before the payout window closed... Re-Steemed!

😄😇😄

@creatr

P.S. I love your adjustable spark gap, very clever.

And it is obvious that you have an amazing amount of thought, $$$, and labor tied up in this. I wish you the best of success, and look forward to future news.

Thanks, for your vote, the re-steem and your support!

You are quite welcome. :D

Upvoted & Resteemed!

Congratulations @mage00000! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The world need this intention, it would help solve our energy needs in the future

That is what I've been trying to tell on this blog.

AWESOME!!!

Fun little plaything, ain't it? :)

Fun... yes! Little... not quite!

nice post! :)

Thank you! :)

Innovative company indeed

Meeen you are solving many energy problems in the world
THIS IS THe FUTURE

look like is so extreem

This is awesome! So much ingenuity in one video. I love when people work with electricity and the complexities of it. Can't wait to see future updates. Thanks for sharing :)

As an electrician I found you post very interesting I've only just started looking at the arduino for some electronic projects keep up the good work, cheers mike

Wow, Awsome I like tesla I had test in my home, Your voltage is too high take care bro

Interesting and innovating post, really nice #keepsteemin

Great post!) Good luck)

Neat! :-)

This is amazing my friend!

scary and cool at the same time. bzzzzzzzzt!

What are you going to do with this?
I mean what are the practical applications?

Research. I want to do measurements to prove or disprove Tesla's theory. You can read all about it in my blog here on steemit. Practical applications will follow as soon as we have proof and that will open up a new source of renewable energy.

I see. Well then I will give you a follow to see your findings!

Check out this series of posts: "The discovery of Tesla's Magnifying Transmitter"
There you'll find all the details. If you find it half as fascinating as I do, you'll be thrilled. :)
(the link takes you to the last part of the series because in that post you'll find links to the other eight parts)

Wow that's crazy to watch, your creating lightning!

That is indeed the idea.... ;)

Wow! This is awesome!

Hey, great post! We have featured your article in our weekend newsletter! Keep up the good work, and let us know if you have any concerns.

Join us on the science-trail Discord

I've always loved these little gadgets, so much power in a rather simple system!

Have you ever investigated the ground currents produced? Ever repeat Eric Dollards lightbulb experiment where the light has electrostatic forces? Great work! Keep it up, I am excited to see your progress!

Yes; see this video:


I have seen Eric's work. He is hailed by some as THE Tesla expert, but I am not that impressed. Eric does his own thing which is mostly unrelated to Tesla's work (other than that it also involves electricity)
More progress updates will follow after this "experiments season". There are only a few months here that I can run my coils at full power, so I have to make the most of that.

@mage00000, thank you for supporting @steemitboard as a witness.

Here is a small present to show our gratitude
You can click on your award to jump to your Board of Honor

Once again, thanks for your support!