Pinterest fail

in #pintrestfail6 years ago (edited)

So I happened upon a mismatch of craft items on an auction site for my town, I bid on it and it won. Yay me! In it, there was a bag of beads, which I was quite excited about because I know in many of my kazillillion pintrest pins I had saved a pin about melted beads that made a beautiful sun catcher. Easy peasy as per the directions. Bada-bing, Bada-boom done. Right? Right.....
image.jpeg

So I got my muffin tin out, except I didn't have a metal one , I only had a silicone one, but that shouldn't make a difference. Right? Right.....

I put them in the oven to melt, and waited for the magic to happen, the out come to be beautiful sun catchers, that I could give as gifts or even sell on the auction site I initially purchased the beads from. At least that was the idea, until I smelt something burning. And then I looked at the oven and saw flames and smoke billowing out of it.

I must say I was rather proud of myself on how I did not panic at the situation as I am prone to do, I grabbed a pitcher filled it with water and poured it on the flames, that should have worked to put out the flames. Right? Right....
image.jpeg

All it did was raise the chemical smell of burning plastic and silicone up a couple of notches, ok maybe 10 notches. Not panicking.... Run to the cupboard and grab baking soda and start sprinkling it on the fire, it's not doing anything. Hmmmmm, next step was to liberally dump the entire box on the fire, yessssssss! That worked! Grab it and take the mess and proceed to take pictures for my next steemit post ( which I am now writing) on a total pintrest fail 😜 And then spend the next hour cleaning up the oven of the water and baking soda mess. Easy peasy pintrest project .. Right? Right.....
image.jpeg
image.jpeg

Sort:  

SO pretty... :D

Just to clarify, yes I'm pretty and pink' don't forget pink! 😬😙😏😐 this is just to show what my poor husband has to go through in https://steemit.com/homeoffgridlifeblog/@miryana/so-you-want-to-live-off-the-grid-eh-part-3. Trust me he has a lot to work with, in a totally pink way I may add 😂

At least I will know how not to do this when I eventually try it thank you xx 😂

Laugh at my expense missy, go ahead 😂😂😂😂😜

Oh dear, I'm ashamed to admit that I chuckled ... a fair bit. I'm so sorry. I hate when there's an epic fail. The good news, of course, is that you didn't burn the house down or injure yourself ... right? So .... do you think that you'll try it again - using different baking things?

Lol considering it's such an easy diy I will definitely do it again, using a metal muffin tin next time 😆 But I'll make sure to replace my baking soda and keep it on hand just in case...

I look forward to seeing the finished sun catcher- the epic win will offset this ... epic fail ... hehehe. (Sorry/not sorry, lol!)