Ship Silver Coins, Rounds and Bars for #piratesunday

One of the Canadian commemorative series that @ronaldoavelino is currently showing in his blog have ship designs. @stokjockey showed Hamilton Mint's Connecticut ingot with a ship design yesterday. And our friend @georgemales, requested to see the few ship coins I may have.

So I thought I'd show ship silver coins, rounds and bars... today being #piratesunday.

Portuguese Silver Escudo Coins

1932- 10 Escudos, 1934- 5 Escudos, and 1946- 2 1/2 Escudos

The Portuguese escudo is the currency of Portugal prior to the introduction of the euro on 1 January 1999 and its removal from circulation on 28 February 2002. The escudo was subdivided into 100 centavos. The word escudo means "shield".

In 1932, silver coins were introduced for ​2 1⁄2, 5 and 10 escudos. The ​2 1⁄2 and 5 escudos were minted until 1951, with the 10 escudos minted until 1955 with a reduced silver content.


And my favorite ship coin is...

1949 Canada Silver Dollar Newfoundland Ship

0.6 troy oz silver coin

The design of 1949 Canada Dollar coin commemorates Newfoundland becoming a province of the Dominion of Canada on December 31, 1949.

On the reverse of the coin is The Matthew, the ship in which John Cabot is thought to have discovered Newfoundland. King George VI appears on the obverse with the Latin inscription "GEORGIVS VI DEI GRATIA REX"


Rwanda Nautical Ounce Silver Coins

50 RWF Franc, .999 fine silver, by the German Mint

2017 Santa Maria

First release of the Nautical Ounce series, commemorating the 525th anniversary of the discovery of America featuring the expedition's famous flagship Santa Maria.

2018 Endeavour

Second release of the Nautical Ounce series,commemorating the 250th Anniversary of the HMS Endeavour, the first ship to reach the east coast of Australia in 1770.



2018 Cook Islands 1 oz Silver Bounty Coin

The Cook Islands Silver Bounty coins design are the same every year. The ship is well known in the novel "Mutiny on the Bounty".
This silver art round is special...

1886-1986 LIBERTY Ellis Island/Twin Towers & Sailing Ships Art Round


1975 Whaling Ship Art Bar, 1 ozt .999 Fine Silver

Serialized 24KT EGP silver bar and silver bar by Hamilton Mint


In addition to the name of the series which is America The Beautiful, 1 troy oz, .999 F.S. 75 mint year and HM for Hamilton Mint, the back of the bar has the inscriptions written within the outline of the US continent: - "WHALING SHIP - At a center of the vortex of sea, salt, and sperm oil, the early American whaling ship glides across the wind-swept oceans of time", which describes the image in the front of the bar.


The Privateer Series 2 oz Rounds

Produced by the Elemental Mint


There is a ship depicted on each individual round of this series . Can you name all the rounds on the Privateer Series?

There are numerous coins, rounds and bars that have ships as their theme. I may have a couple more pieces to show on another day.


I hope you enjoyed this article. I post every day, so I will see you again soon!
@silversaver888




@silversaver888 is a proud member of #steemsilvergold



♥.•:¨¨:•.♥.•::•.♥.•:¨¨*:•.♥

😊 Make it an AWESOME #piratesunday!!!😊


Hugs and Kisses 🤗💕💋!!!!

Sort:  

Those are some great looking coins! I have been growing my collection but it's still so small! I really like the commemorative US half dollars.

I can see this convo as it went down...
@georgemales: Hey Saver-Baby! Show us your Ship Coins!
@silversaver888: OK, Hor-Hay but I only have a couple 🤔
<<3 dozen ship coins and 3 weeks later...>>

😋😜🤣😂💝



@georgemales: I thought you had forgot about it! 😉

LOL

Yeah, I don't usually forget, but lately... ummmm... and I know I owe another stacker a post about something... and I just cannot recall what it was, LOL! I can't remember!!! Gosh... I forgot!

lol I'm at least a dozen years older and not nearly that bad (yet!)

🤣😂🤣😋

Wonderful ships collection!
The name of the Portuguese ships on the coins is a "caravela". It was on a caravela that Pedro Álvares Cabral, a Portuguese navigator, discovered Brazil on April,22 1500.

Thanks for the information. I am learning much about history via the stack of ssg-community! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment, @ronaldoavelino. Take care.

I was wondering about this post and i really thought that you forgot about it. Congratulations...really beautiful ship designs and it's really hard to say which one is my favorite one... most probably if i was in a shop will go and buy all of them lol
For sure in the near future i will get some more ship designs silver rounds!
By the way i delegate today 1000 Steem Power to @ssg-community just to show my support to other members of steemsilvergold community...
Hope all is good with you and you are having a fantastic Sunday!

I have not forgotten, @georgemales! WOW, awesome, for delegating to @ssg-community! That will surely benefit you and me and the entire community! Stack on, my friend, and have a terrific week ahead.

You got a bunch of beautiful ship themed coins and rounds, I really like the Rwanda coins they got a great style

I love your little pirate photo! You are the queen of ship silver! Hamilton Mint Art bars are the best. 😍

When I saw your ship bar from HM, I knew that we were stacking sisters, @dfinney!!!
IMG_3059.JPG

Thank you silversaver888! You've just received an upvote of 61% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

My favorite style ships. I used to build model ships and sell them as a kid. Great show bestie.

Even as a kid, you were building things, bestie!! I built a model violin once and gave it to my Dad. I've always wanted to build a model ship. I should still try to do it, while I can, LOL!

Brilliant model ship designs

Posted using Partiko Android

Usually, the ships that mints put on coins are of historical significance. Have a great week, @clitadias!

@silversaver888, yes they are, I love history. You have a lovely week too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Arrghh! Nice booty! ;)

Thanks, my friend @handofzara! Have a terrific week ahead, and take care.

Wonderful Ships for #PirateSunday and I really like the 2 Oz. Privateers but you knew that. No Prey No Pay !
@silversaver888

I wish the Privateer series continued, and I thought they said it was going to be an 8-round series. It was a great 2 oz series and popular, and so were the other ultra 2 oz high relief series of Elemental mint: American Landmarks, American Music Icons, and Egyptian God series and of course the Privateer series.

Whoa, totally overboard on all the ships Sis, I love these Galleon styled Escudos as I have a few in my silver fleet. Their ships designed similar to the Spanish version. I am waiting for another ship to come in the mail.

I love your moji, sis @kerrislravenhill! I am looking forward to seeing the ship that is still to come. Your silver is totally pirate booty!
IMG_3053.JPG

Are we not going Moji crazy? It's spreading all over #ladiesofssg4eva.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @silversaver888! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!