Animated Potions- Pixelart Weekly

in #pixelart6 years ago (edited)

Potions_finished.gif

I've been practicing animating lately and I've wanted to make potions for a while. So @jonny-clearwater 's Pixelart Weekly Contest motivated me to finally try making some fancy potions. This weeks theme is animation and I definitely wanted to work on some fun effects.

Original size 110x50 pixels


Potions_original.gif

line4.png

A short recap of my process


I used Aseprite to create this, because of it's more intuitive animation system.
I used a lot of layers, because I'm still inexperienced with complex animation. More layers makes it easier to concentrate and to adjust settings like hue/saturation and opacity.

Screenshot_1.png

My first attempt at animating purple potion failed, it looked like it was flipping in place. I started it from scratch as it was much faster.

failed smoke.gif

I used only 8 frames as it's the fastest way for me to get a smooth looping animation. For the background I used the dither machine again to quickly generate a simple pattern.

Elements in bottles2-Sheet.png

line4.png

Work in Progress


1.png 2.png

line4.png

What is your favorite potion? :D

The tastes of these potions are:
The first one is like lemony pop-rocks.
The middle one is stardust, spicy and burns like alcohol.
Last one has flowery taste and reminds of lavender, but it's other magical flowers.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this post please:


Untitled-1.png

Sort:  

Great most on animation, you made a good call on this post! Though am not into this but I love it......Tnx for Sharing and happy steeming!

Thank you :D Glad you enjoyed it!

Wow, that's awesome!!!
Excellent job @kristyglas

Maybe you would consider joining the @contests cover image contest :)

Thank you! :D
I'll check it out, but I have 2 posts waiting to be finished this week :)

Damn, when will the day come when I will win a pixel weekly?? :D This post is awesome. You are too good. :)

Thank you :D
I'm sure you can win, your art is great. It's best if you feel inspired ^-^

Really cool pixel art and animation quality mate!

Thank you :D
Trying to learn and improve <3

Thank you for voting! ^^

Really awesome! I like the way the middle one sloshes back and forth, well done!

Thank you! Yeah it's probably smoothest animation from the 3 ^-^

I love those! Looks like potions from a cozy retro style video game.

Thank you ^-^
Had a lot of practice

buen trabajo...

Animation is definitely something on my "to learn" - list.
Looks really cool the potions!

Thank you :D It was very fun to make

I love pixel art. These are really well done. You've got some talent!

Thank you! ^^ Do you do any pixel art?

Haha noooo... Unfortunately, I am not gifted in the visual arts. I mostly write. I also like video, but I haven't done any on Steemit yet. Pixel art I could maybe do, because it is more technical and I think in that manner. I couldn't paint or draw though!

Well definitely try out pixel art :D
Getting started is much easier than regular drawing.

they look amazing, you should post some aseprite tutorials (:

Thank you ^^ I will when I have more free time. Tutorials are harder than just drawing.
Is there something in particular that you'd like to learn? :D