Pixel Art Weekly~Theme Announcement~Win Steem!!

in #pixelartweekly • 7 years ago (edited)

🤓🤓

Congratulations once again to
@kristyglas
for her win of round 11 of
Pixel Art Weekly!

Alright my fellow pixel pushers, what do we have in store for you this week?

The theme for round 12 is...
Cthulhu

(via imgur.com)

(via DeviantArt.com)

(via Pinterest.com)

This fine mythological beast has been the subject of many an artists renditions, and an internet favorite to say the least.
Now it's your turn to show us how you envision this great Lovecraftian creature.
Cute? Monstrous? Just another dude that loves the beach?
Let your imaginations run wild!

(via DeviantArt.com)

(via patreon.com)

(via pixeljoint.com)

I'd love to see
Pixel Art Weekly
continue to grow and see more artists join the contest.
So again, I'll give a reward to anyone that gets another artist to participate.
If you get someone new to enter and they mention you personally with their legitimate entry,
Pixel Art Weekly
will reward you with
5 SBD!

(via giphy.com)

The Rules

Welcoming all artists to participate in
Pixel Art Weekly
where your pixel prowess can win you
STEEM!!!!

Pixel art is a form of digital art, created through the use of software, where images are edited on the pixel level.

If you are unsure about what defines pixel art, please check out this link....
http://pixeljoint.com/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=11299

Contests will begin on Mondays, at which point the theme for the week will be revealed.
On Fridays I will post the top 3 and allow steemit users to vote for the final winner.
Winners will be announced on Sundays and will be rewarded half of all steem raised on that weeks posts.
To participate, contestants must put their entry in the comments below. They must also upvote and resteem the post.
Tag any and all personal posts regarding your entry with #pixelartweekly
Bonus points will be awarded for animated gifs.
All entries must be original works of art.

Stay Classy Steemit!!

(via Pinterest.com)

🤓🤓

Sort:  
 7 years ago (edited) 

Edit 2: https://steemit.com/art/@kristyglas/lovecraftian-cthulhu The post is done!

I don't have time for a smoother animation, maybe another time :)
Edit: decided no moon :D

Will work on the post of how I made this now ^^ Didn't want to be late :D

That animation is very sufficient

 7 years ago (edited) 

x3 version

Open in new tab for better preview

Maybe better without the moon?

Wow ... at a loss for words.. This is EPIC !

My name is Cthulhu - #pixelartweekly entry

my-name-is-cthulhu.gif

cthulhu.gif

Original post

aw yeah man, it's like babyCthulhu ... just like babyGroot ... it's awesome!. The bar is set !

Love it!

Please add a 1x version of this to your entry.
Thanks

So cute! :D

Great job.

 7 years ago (edited) 

Here's my entry for this week :)

cthulu-big-again.gif

cthulu-tiny.gif
link to my wip/entry post!

You know what I think of this awesome piece girl. Common, show me the flat one Do eet. Dooo eeet nooaw !! (say this in an Arnold voice)

 7 years ago (edited) 

the flat one? like the one without shading?
orig.png

YES ! this (to me at least) is so much better than the one with bevel&emboss ... it's an awesome design

thank you! I spent a lot of time on it :)

Great job. The depth and layers in the tendrils is what I loved the most.

Thank you :)

Hey Guys! Was really fun doing this theme.
Here's my entry for this week:

Cthulhu (3).gif
https://steemit.com/pixelartweekly/@w0olf/pixelart-weekly-cthulhu

Hope you like it!
Cheers,
w0olf


Without background :)

Cool beans. May I advise you to go smaller next time ? Have the smallest eye build of 2x2 pixels max ! If you start small, you won't get lost on those large surfaces and what to do with them (lots of flat shaded areas right now). Just some friendly advise. awesome entry nonetheless

That's a great advice. Thank you :)
Will keep it in mind next time.
But I'm happy u like it anyway. :D

Love it

Yay thanks :D

 7 years ago (edited) 


I am Cthulhu

I just cannot resist these awesome themes .... must resist next time !!
small wip build up animation over here


view at 100%


view at 200%

Love it!! :D

Thanks 😊. Would've been great if I was able to animate the tendrils, but no time this week.

 7 years ago (edited) 

Very cool. The highlights and shading is on point.

This was fun wish I had more than a day to work on it. I can't wait till next weeks.
8 bit challenge 2 big.jpg

8 bit challenge 2.jpg

Essence of Cthulhu. Well done.

Thank you.

 7 years ago (edited) 

ok so hows this ?? @jonny-clearwater & @eqko >>

200% view
cthulhu11200.gif

100% view
cthulhu11.gif

lol , this was fun animating this ! Cthulu be like " so ?? what do you want kid ?? (blink blink , sniff sniff ) " lol awkward stare.

completely pixel painted from scratch , no reference image , no tracing !
here is a link to my original blog post

oh and also @jonny-clearwater @eqko ....... in context to .... "I always prefer when one of the contest regulars calls bullshit. Gives it that "community" feel." ...... here is a work in progress :
wip-gif.gif
and i have a strong feeling that by putting this comment here i may be shooting myself in the foot for this contest, but agree with it or not , photobashed and photomanipulated pixel art exists , is out there and professional artists use photo-manipulation techniques now at a single pixel level too !!! just sayin' !!! you agree or not , its still pixel art, i may not have done it well myself, but it should be explicitly mentioned in the rules at least , and if its not , then check yo rants !!! of course photo-bashed matte paintings may not be as valuable as real hand-made art , but that also seems to depend from client to client. Its just all about how it looks right ? at least now i hope you know i'm a genuine profile and not here to bullshit anyone anywhere ! ban me from this contest for all i care.

Not shooting yourself in the foot. This entry is great.
Your first entry was neither an original piece of art nor "pixel art" as per the contest description, which includes a link that clearly defines pixel art.
Glad you stuck it out though and turned in a new entry.

ok sure thanks , i understand how it wasn't original because i used that image. but still just saying,
what do you think of this one ?? Photomanip of a 3D modelled spaceship render specifically made for different angles in pixel art !!!
Spaceship pixel art.png

looks like a cool art challenge. Wish I did pixel art. Always wanted to, perhaps I will try it some day in the near future with one of your pixel art themes that I just won't be able to resist. I'll keep a look out on your page.

When it gets down to pixel art, that @kristyglas is straight-up GaNgStA!

Thank you xD
Still doesn't compare to your insanely detailed steemit pixel art train haha :D

very nice :)

I just learned a shit load about an art form i wasnt familar with. Thanks for sharing. I dont think im ready to join your contest, but now i have a great level of respect for the art form.

who's to say you're not ready. Give it your best shot. It's all about the fun of creation man. Do it. You know you want to !!

Congratulations I'm sure you worked your hardest turn @jonny-clearwater approval

 7 years ago (edited) 

Omg!! I was going to sit out this week so it's more fair to everyone, but the theme is too good! o.o

I'm sure you would. But you have me otherwise chained up in work brother ! Maybe I can sneak in a little entry like I did with Bugs ... we'll see ...

Found my cute old little sculpture that I made ages ago :D

Cthulhu survived all those ages ago!

Congratulations! :)

Thank you! :D

Wow great Theme @jonny-clearwater! :D

 7 years ago (edited) 

Here is my entry for this weekly !!!
Cthulhu !!!!! :D :D :D
cthulupixelart3.gif

here is a link to my Entry post !

hope you all like it ! any comments and criticism is most welcome :)
@jonny-clearwater , did i do this right ? also @RawbinHutt made me notice this weekly contest

@eqko
Thoughts?

Thoughts are that if his real name is not Dominic Qwek then this is an invalid entry and plagiarism to boot. It would be invalid anyways, since it's an upscaled image instead of truly self pixeled.

I always prefer when one of the contest regulars calls bullshit. Gives it that "community" feel. 🤓

no upscaled photo-manip pixel art gif entries ?

 7 years ago (edited) 

this is the image that i used. Only pixel painted pixel art from scratch ?

lol , more i think about it , the more i feel it should be disqualified. Meh , 'twas fun making Dominic's Cthulu sneeze pixels nonetheless haha. shall i delete these comments and the post ?

Yes, only original pixel art made from scratch, no upscaled photomanipulations or anything. Also, if you DO use some sort of 1:1 reference for your pixelart, share the source from the get-go (i forgot this too once)

Wow! so many awesome Chthulhu´s, too bad i just found this pixel art contest :s

There are only a couple entries so far and you have till tomorrow night.

Maybe next time! Great contest man!

I learn something new each week. There are some great entries so far.

 7 years ago (edited) 

I don't understand why my entry is not included in the top 3 @jonny-clearwater, because of the votes...but anyways, great entries from all of u guys! :)

The top entries are selected by myself personally.
Votes only matter once the top entries have been selected.
Hope you don't feel discouraged.
Your entry was great, especially for someone new to pixel art.
Keep at it

Ah okay i See! :) I do understand your choice, I just thought the votes decide which work is under the top 3. But since there is a contest every week I just have to try harder next time ;) Love your contests!

We're really happy to have you be a part of them.
Practice makes perfect.
People like @eqko will often give some advice and it's usually very good.