You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brain dump - plant-based food movement

I used to love bacon cheeseburgers as a kid and grew up eating meals centered around the "protein", so I can say I enjoyed meat I suppose. I never had any thoughts of becoming vegan/vegetarian until later on. Though I was really surprised when I made the switch that I didn't miss meat one bit. I thought I would, and had people ask all the time if I did. The plant-based ones that mimic real burgers taste good I guess, but I think after so long my tastes and preferences have changed. I enjoy a good black bean or lentil burger so much more personally. But as you pointed out those beefy veggie burgers really aren't marketed towards me.

Posted using Dapplr

Sort:  

Got it. So it seems you acquire a taste for meat and after a while it goes away - at least for you anyway. Everyone is different.

Yes, we all have different personal and cultural connections to certain foods, as well. So I think it's not always just what we like, but then also what strikes a chord with us on an emotional level, too. It is interesting to see people's individual journeys and what works/doesn't work for them!