Golden-rod

in #plantslast year

Here in my town, we do have many native species of Goldenrod including this beauty, the Seaside Goldenrod (S. sempervirens). I spotted quite the strand of it planted down near some houses close to where I live at , While it’s just now going into seed, all parts of the plant are incredibly useful, especially the flowers and leaves.

I love working with this aromatic plant to help with allergies, especially runny nose, sniffling, and weepy eye allergies. I’ve found the astringent qualities of the plant to be helpful too for folks who have post nasal drip happening. It’s in my red tide reliever formula, and also the herbal blend I make when allergy season really kicks up. I love going out in the fall to harvest the golden stocks - here in Florida we get our biggest blooms in October.

The plant has many other benefits too, from helping to heal wounds to support urinary tract health, making it a wonderful part of the Florida herbal medica.