Sort:  

Thanks Cath! As it happens, the base image used here was a stop darker than the one I originally sent you on IG... 'tis bonkers.

Oh wow! Even more impressive! It was a nice surprise to see you post with the examples. Much easier to scrutinize those shadows on this platform, rather than looking at IG on my phone. :)

Yeah, it was a bit of a daft way for me to send them.

Figured it was worth a slightly deeper dive with the 80D shots included too (appealed to my geekiness!)

No not daft at all, it made Friday morning more interesting. I do enjoy a bit of camera geekery.

On a completely separate tangent, I really like the photograph of The Roaches. I don't think I've seen this view before. Makes me feel a little restless, as I feel quite landlocked in London. I never go anywhere else with my camera, and I'm starting to get a hankering for photographing somewhere different for a change. :)

Ah sorry - I meant daft as in not the best way to show the detail :) But yeah, it was good to chat it through.

I've got huge respect for the work you produce in such a short distance from home and the results you get - I wish I had places that pretty that close :) But yeah, I totally understand you might need a change of scene. If you're ever heading up to the peak and need any location pointers, I'd happy to help.

It's not a completely original composition - I've seen it a few times before - but it's one that does need a bit more of a yomp up than the normal viewpoints. I got a bit lost trying to find it on that trip! :D

I am very fortunate to live close to the park, there is so much to photograph here. But it would be nice to visit somewhere a bit less populated, with a nice big vista. Maybe the grass is always greener... :) I'm heading up north next week for a very quick visit and I'm tempted to just drive to the coast for a sunset, or something like that. Will see what the weather is doing. It'll probably be raining! 😆

If I ever make it to the Peak District then any advice would be very welcome! When I was a child we always went to the Lakes, so it's not an area I've explored much. It looks like an amazing place to visit with a camera... :)