The power of lens

in #pob-photography3 years ago (edited)

Modern telezoom lenses is fun to use.
I got one of these beasts this summer.
A Panasonic Leica DG Vario-Elmar 100-400mm F4.0-6.3 ASPH
This lens alone is almost twice in weight (985 g or 2.17 lb) of my mirrorless DC-G9 camera body.
Yet is considered as small and lightweight in the fullframe photo world.
Walking with a 3.5 lb gear on your neck is tough enough, and carrying some extra weigh of a tripod, while just walking in the park for fun is almost out of question.

This zoom lens is built for maniacs (like me), it has a focal length 100-400 mm, which in fact (on a MFT type camera) is equivalent to a 800mm power, if compared to a conventional full-frame cameras.
But what good can you make with 800mm lens from a hand-held, without tripod ?

This task could be out of question a decade or two ago. But today, with optical stabilization features, seen here and there and everywhere, in lens, on photo sensors, on gimbals, and god knows where else, things become much different.

Look what I managed to snag on a distant building. At the moment of shooting, I had not even close idea how far it was.
When back home, I measured the distance on Google maps.
Guess what. It was shot from 1625 meters away.

1625 meters !

This is just a bit over one mile.

a1mile_P1010636.JPG
[click for full size]

Camera : Panasonic Lumix DC-G9
Lens: 100-400 mm LEICA DG Vario
Exposure time: 1/640, Aperture priority
F-Number : 7.1
ISO speed : 1600
Date taken : 2021:09:01 18:42

Shooting conditions were far from ideal, very late afternoon on a dull, cloudy day.
A 1:1 crop shows it is not very excellent, nor fantastic:

1milecrop.JPG

But wait a minute, this is hand held job with a 800mm, ONE MILE away !
Only one try been made, possibly I could get it even more sharp, if several shots made.

Will have to repeat this on a more bright day.

What is your largest lens?

@onealfa

Sort:  

1625 meters and the picture is so clear, now I understand why you called it a BEAST if I had that, I’ll be making a bulk of cash as a photographer

Im a lover of good photos, would love to acquire one of those lens

I'm sure you bought this lens for "research purposes" :)))

are you a photographer?
I see your photo quality is very good

Just a hobbyist, amateur.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

your hobby is good
Do you like taking pictures?

800mm. What a beast! Impressive.
I'm already so happy with my 200mm lens on my Canon eos M50.

Now go for some wildlife when you've got some more light.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

$WINE


Congratulations, @theguruasia You Successfully Shared 0.400 WINE With @onealfa.
You Earned 0.400 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 4/5 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINE Token Discord Channel
WINE Current Market Price : 0.280

Wow that's looks like a beast. I have 35mm lens and as of now that does the job for me.

You have done very good photography and you have taken pictures very skillfully

equivalent to a 800mm power

Whoaa...100-400mm 😲 & equivalent to 800mm....i can only imagine the power of the lens.

Used to own Canon 90-300mm IS USM lens, used it for more than 9 years before it gave out on me.

Now I just rely on my smartphone. Really hoping that one day I can start photographing using DSLR again

Thanks for sharing the experience @onealfa

Congratulations @onealfa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 140000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 145000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!

Wow, each time I come across your article it tell me that you are one of the funder of hive.more grace to you


Posted via proofofbrain.io

beautiful shots! Keep up the good work.

try make picture of moon
!PIZZA

@onealfa! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @bokica80.

Did you know Pizzabot in Discord has a bunch of useful commands? (5/10)

Wow, That sounds unimaginable the power of lens can cause because I ain't really acquainted to those type of things maybe.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Hand held? Why not on a tripod?...
I sold my DSLR this spring, was collecting too much dust on a shelf. I had 18-140 mm lens on it. Not much but was getting the job done for a rooky like me.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

well i have 70-200 for the full-frame 5dmkii body. i use it really sometimes for custom works.
another "long" is 135mm for full-frame as well. not too long as you can see :-)