You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wahala. Troubles can become chances. Word of the Week contest S5W2

in #pob-wotw2 years ago

No worries, I sometimes reply on comments long ago :)

Don't mind me, please. I couldn't make the sense of it.... language barrier, you know.

Let me try it saying it differently.
What the media tells, tells nothing from the lives of individuals, ordinary people. By anecdotes and stories I mean personal events, memories and experiences of me and you. We are not headlines, politicians, celebrities or famous people. We have family experiences and they have meaning. By telling them, we help make other perspectives possible. We can build bridges instead of misunderstanding each other or having the debates of those who like to see us busy with their stuff. There is too much of this and too little of that.

Personal anecdotes, I would like to clear this up, do not have the claim to truth, just as political communication does not. People nowadays know the names of famous politicians and actors, but they don't know who their own grandparents were, or their parents, what kind of life they led, and so on. Being interested in the world stage seems to take up more space. Strangely, we identify more with screen personalities than with where we come from. We ordinary people are supposed to accept the rules made by those who do not abide by them. By arguing on the horizontal level, we sow discord among ourselves and claim that it is necessary to be governed for us to be united as a people. But the ruler thrives on disunity and it does not bother him.

I myself have not experienced war firsthand, but my parents and their relatives did. In trying to understand their stories, I come to understand myself better.

It is remarkable that you say you have superficial knowledge in these matters and I would agree with you, my knowledge is also limited.

Greetings to you :)

Sort:  

We ordinary people are supposed to accept the rules made by those who do not abide by them

Hmmmmm. They make rules to control us and they give loopholes in between the rules to always do what they want. Might is right, right???

Well, yes media is serving more to spread hatred than to evoke kindness. It only creates hype.

Sometime ago @kenechukwu97 stated in his post that he thought Pakistan was a place of terrorism because it is what media told him, but when he came accross Pakistanis he had to change his views.

Thanks for the explanation @erh.germany ma'am.

!ALIVE