You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Talking about virtues By not talking about Them. WOTW challenge accepted!

in #pob-wotw2 years ago

Agh, I had a long and thorough reply written to your brilliant and witty analysis of virtue signaling, but I lost it when browser crashed :(

The gist was that from a sociobiological viewpoint, virtue signaling could be considered an evolutionarily adaptive strategy. For example, people who donate to charity often tell others about their donation, thus earning a positive reputation with the rest of his/her community. This is an example of how 'altruistic' behavior is not really altruistic because we use it to signal our virtue and thus improve our reputation. Too bad I lost the original reply. 😞

I have decided not to let anyone else know about my good intentions.

Me too! But I do plan to exercise more, eat a better diet, and donate to many charities ;)

Sort:  

Oh, what a pity! 😞
I hate when that happens and now it happened to you, too. Well, nothing can be done about it. Gone is gone.

Thank you for the compliment, I happily receive it!

HaHa, and you spotted of course the paradox - me saying that I won't let anyone know about my good intentions :D

Right, openly shown altruism is no altruism.

HaHa, and you spotted of course the paradox - me saying that I won't let anyone know about my good intentions :D

Yes, I thought it was funny. 😄