Don't Be A Crab

in #pob2 years ago

Sundays are for fellowshipping with God and fellow brethren, yay!! I hope you made it to church today? And had a wonderful time there in God's house. My pastor always says 'it's not enough to just come to church, you have to come with an expectation for God to meet, else you're just a churchgoer and not a Christian'. So, hope you went to church today with expectations in your heart? If you did, I can only hope they are met by God and all your prayers were answered. As for me, I didn't go to church, no don't judge me, I had a reason. I can only pray for his mercies though in case my reason isn't worthy enough.

Had a wonderful weekend? I hope. Lately, it's beginning to seem that I'm more productive during the weekdays than the weekend. I know what you're thinking, shouldn't that be the case? To answer that, not with me, due to the fact that I'm a full time student, I tend to spend all my weekdays dealing with student business, and have just the weekend to really deal with my life and that's what I consider real productivity.

My friend was to dedicate his baby today and i promised to be there, but I was discouraged by the fact that I had to cross state lines to get there. He's been calling me all day, I don't know what to say to him, any ideas??.Even though this article is just a rant, I should probably not bore you with my day's activities. Here goes..

Crab Mentality
To summarize, crab mentality simply means having the willingness to hinder people from attaining things that you haven't attained. For example, badmouthing a friend out of a shot at promotion, because the promotion would put him/her above you even though you both joined the same workforce, same time and with same qualification.

rod_long_ckwqazrtiwu_unsplash.jpg
Image Credit: Rod Long (on unsplash.com)

People actually have it to different degrees. While some would active or passively pull you down, other won't, but they won't help you up nor catch you when you're falling.

I think everyone is quite guilty of this in a way. I know you will disagree, but a good look at this mentality will show you that it's simply aggravated jealousy, and we've all been guilty of jealous at one point or the other, right? You might be disgusted at the mentality, in that case, you should be extra vigilant, so you don't pick it up.

I've come to learn that in this life, the line between acceptable behavior and unacceptable behaviour is quite thing and flexible, and it's easy to lose sight of it. While it's okay to envy someone, it's bad to be covetous, but in honesty, covetousness is really just aggravated envy.

My point is, that we should honestly try to guide our hearts against seeds that will yield fruit that we don't want to be known for. There's no wisdom in not been concerned about the seed , only to come and be making difficult effort at trying to cut the tree when it's taken root..

Conclusion
Like I said before, envy and jealousy are good in just the right amount. Add a little over that amount, and you start delving into dangerous waters, both for you and the one you envy. So friends, watch your heart and don't let seeds that will produce the crab mentality in

Sort:  

It's never okay to pull someone down coz it doesn't do you any good :)

That's right. Pulling others down won't help one go up

It may to a certain point, but it won't last hehe :)