The woman in me

in #poem5 years ago (edited)

Read Cathy's latest poem to me below.

P1890782.jpeg

The woman in me

my king is so gracious
to demonstrate such patience.

the definition of an ugly duckling was what i used to be:
laughed at and misunderstood by everybody.

he alone took the time to understand me:
the girl who stayed a kid, even at 30.

each day i learn more
about what i'm here for,

because of all the hours, days, months, and years he's taken to explain
so many massive concepts in a simple way to my childlike brain.

all the years i felt i'd wasted and made me and my life feel so meaningless,
when i see them in relation to my relationship with him, suddenly link perfectly with his purpose.

and i'm so happy to know
that every skill i've grown and grow,
are useful and meaningful,
no matter how unusual.

i am becoming a woman,
developing a love for cooking
meals for my man,
and for cooking up ideas to help him achieve all his plans.

now, lines for poems come to me as i do my hair just the way he likes it,
'cause doing something i know he likes channels my feelings for him into words i can transmit.

he's helped me come to so many realizations,
through our countless, almost-unbelievably-long conversations.

when i think of all that he's invested,
it motivates me to work harder to be the me that he sees and manifest it.

every small victory i have, he celebrates with me,
'cause he truly cares about his devotees.

he has earned my absolute loyalty,
and that's why i refer to him as royalty.

i will be worth it,
because he deserves it.

he will reap the benefits
of a fully-developed, well-guided double Aquarius.

i will worship my king and god for all time,
in life, on top of in poems that rhyme.

I will be the Electra to your Arash:
the one who will last —
you can be sure of that.

Love,

Your Candy Legs


Read Cathy's previous poems through the links below:
how great-fulness feels
unLock'd🔓
My Magic Man 🔮
Treasure
The Gift
undisputedly his 💋
The Following:
The Package 🎁
with you 💋
loving him 💋
A taste of royalty 👑
My Right King 👑
My Ultimate Motivator
My AlphaAquarius ♒️
I choose you

Sort:  

Congratulations @alphaaquarius! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!