# MY FIRST LOVE, MUM OR MIRIAM?

in #poem6 years ago

...
Judge who should be my first love, for I know not who she is.
Do I name her as Mum, whose love and care I can't compare?
Or
Miriam, who despite knowing I had no Love succumbed to making me write this prompt?

I know not who, but I'll succumb to the enticing allurement to write about a girl called Miriam.
Hey reader, you'd never get to know her. To you, she's no more than a girl in a fairy tale. And indeed, she is.

...
I know not how or whence
She came
I know not here or thence
She went
All I know is I know not
What
Is known as what
She's worth
Miriam...
She's the first daughter of
A family of ten
A father, two wives and
Seven children
A family harmless as dove
Each of all ten
We never meant to meet
Nature made us meet
Writing was the seat
Which sat our first meet
We became best of friends
A fight there never was
Till there came an end
To a love that never was

sea-2915187_1280.jpg
{Source}https://cdn.pixabay.com/photo/sea-2915187

Sort:  

wow, egbon... Well written!!! The intention wasn't lost at any point.