AT THE RED SEA - A POEM

in #poem7 years ago

images (2).jpg

Lord, I'm standing
between Pharaoh and the sea,
Wondering, worrying
Do You even see me?

I know You've led me
through troubles in the past,
But why, oh why
can't those victories last?

So here I am
hoping to rejoice,
For all I want
is to hear Your voice.

Just to know
which way to go,
Just for Your presence
within me to grow.

I want my heart
to follow Your will,
But Lord, I cannot
make myself still.

You know all I want
is just to obey,
To do only and everything
that You say.

So I wait for You
to appear at this sea,
To make Yourself known
to come here and calm me.

Speak to me, Lord
show me the way,
Lead me, guide me
hear me as I pray.

Lord, I'm standing
between Pharaoh and the sea,
Wondering, worrying
Do You even see me?

images (1).jpg

Wait just a moment
What do I hear?
A rumbling, a tumbling
I feel God coming near.

There's an unmistakable
quaking in my heart,
I think the Red Sea
is about to part!

So I stand on the shore
and wait for dry land,
I wait for the arrival
of God's powerful hand.

I wait and I wait
and I wait some more,
And yet I'm still standing
on this daunting seashore.

Oh Lord, I say
as I fall to my knees,
Why aren't You answering
any of my pleas?

Then, miracle of miracles
my face in the sand,
I finally feel
the stirring of God's hand.

Oh yes, there is something
that God wants to move,
it's my desire to control
that He seeks to reprove.

I am the sea
that He wants to part,
The immovable obstacle
is within my heart.

Oh God, I am yielded
once again to Your will,
For You are the only One
who makes my heart still.

So shake me and shape me
for I want to obey,
And rest in the promise
that You know the way.

Lord, I'm standing
between Pharaoh and the sea,
Marveling, grateful
that of course You see me!

Sort:  

Congratulations @kbabs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!