Helena's Folly- A Poem from Yesteryear.

in #poem6 years ago


While cleaning I came across an old journal this afternoon! Oh, it is fraught with angst and melodrama. Also, plenty of cringe. But tucked into the pages I also found some of my poetry! Here is the only one that I found suitable (and not too embarrassing) to bring to the Blockchain! I hope you enjoy!





Somewhere in these shadows

I swear

I can hear you breathe...

Rattling from the chills and goosebumps
of true realization.

But I stare through you.

And you

You give no second glance.

I can't help but wonder,
do you see me at all?

Oh, but I do know you feel me
At times of heated desperations.

When my lycra thigh brushes your palm
and your eyes give way
to that glimmer.

Like I've suddenly entered view.

So are the ways of fickle creatures.

And I, being a fond fool
of challenge
can think of nothing better

Than to tempt the indifferent.

Though the game entralls
I find, I've broken my very own guidelines.

For daring.
I dote on thee.

Admiration shall surely be my downfall.

And that smile
Says that I am prey.




stitchhead.png

Sort:  

I like this very much. Please keep the good poetry coming! Thanks :)

Nothing like a good cringey old journal to remind you how far you've come XD You wrote some good poetry back then too :)

I can relate to every line from this piece. The crave for admiration and the attendant indifference. I love the diction. Very much like the kinda posts I love savouring. Ama follow up' cos I don't wanna miss any bit of it.

Congratulations @stitchybitch! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!