SEEING IN COLOR!

in #poem7 years ago (edited)

Solange-16-9-1200x675.jpg

"I don't see color, I see people!"

Oh really? Is That right?

"Being Black is a state of mind!"

So thinking Black means you understand the fight?

If being Black is a state of mind, than I guess I've been wasting my time,

cause on most days it's a lot easier to be the "lighter kind."

If Black was a state of mind , why are prisons filled with the same skin as mine?

Oh wait, I know...

"Niggas" commit more crime! That must be why we get more time!

But if being Black is "thought up," shouldn't we ALL get "caught up?"

You say don't see "culla?"

Yet you think every Black girl named "Laquanda" is a single "muthu?"

Or grip your purse extra tight when you're next to that "brutha."

"I don't see color!"

Or maybe you just don't see "YOUR COLOR!"

Cause from the moment my tired-ass feet... hits these hard-ass streets...

I'm reminded that MY color IS on at all times...

Regardless of my "state of mind!"


(Poem inspired by "Never Let Me Down!"- Kanye West)

If you dug this little piece, you should read the other crazy shit I've written:

INSOMNIAC

SUICIDAL VIRAL

WE ARE THE DREAMERS OF THE DREAM

Sort:  

if you couldn't be a victim
what would you do?
White Superiority

All are human black and white....

Not denying that. But really try to understand what the poem is saying.

Hello @trendhobo

This is a very nice piece on Race.

I don't think people are born hating any tribe or race, they are just taught by the society to hate.

@ogochukwu.

P.S I sent you a message on Steemit chat

Congratulations @trendhobo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!