Thunder

in #poems6 years ago

I awoke to the sound of his voice
So harsh, so bitter I feared for the worse

He shouted and shouted of things I had done wrong
All the while baffling me with questions from the sharpness of his tongue

Calm calm, my husband I plead
But louder and louder his voice weeps

But now as I attempt one more subtility,
He flings his fists at me, breaking my stability

The more I run
The worse they became
Giving me breaks of nowadays cane

Now I have stopped talking
Letting him pounce on me, letting him rush in his punching

Then suddenly, he slowed his rush
And then I dared to talk, to ask him why
But it appears he is not done
As I receive the lightest of blows and it forces me to cry

He is now done, resting is swollen pride
And I broken and left to mend of the soul that had died

And as I look up at him... I feel he has only but begun to break my remaining bones

               Adayemi