Missing Time

in #poems3 years ago
}



I just found my own past
And as I read the words I journeyed there for a moment
all the feelings came rushing back as if they had always just been waiting there
waiting for me to arrive

And then they gently carried me back to here
to the thing which I so wanted to write about today
if I could only find the time
I should be sleeping, but the story wants to be told

I slipped off today into the other world
the need to go came on suddenly and it wasn't about to be ignored
so I laid down with my dog and closed my eyes

When I opened them I had only a moment to adjust my sight
and then the world began to shudder
like a car with bad brakes coming to a stop
everything I had always thought of as stationary
suddenly stopped, then paused before starting to move again
only this time in the opposite direction

The world had changed it's rotation
How had I never contemplated that this might actually happen?
How had I never felt the world move, until is stopped?

It was the strangest of experiences to feel the world stop
How long had it taken? Days? How long was it paused? I remember thinking the sun was standing still far to long, but everything was so surreal
that this thought was quickly forgotten

Perhaps it was the frequency of everything changing that had me so disoriented
It was like reality had become a song and the chords were all being played

Then just like that I was here again waking to a very happy to see me little dog

~//~